What is YOUR opinion?
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: What is YOUR opinion?

  1. #1
    Site Moderator girlisrad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    10,655

    Default What is YOUR opinion?

    ON drinking during pregnancy?

    I stumbled on this article:

    http://parentingsquad.com/yes-you-ca...while-pregnant


    I thought it was rather interesting. SO many things are forbidden during pregnancy it seems, I was kind of stoked to see the rules loosen a bit!


    So, what do you think?
    I'm back, baby.

  2. #2
    Posting Addict Jenn0113's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    In the heat and humidity
    Posts
    25,924

    Default

    You are probably going to want to move this to the debate board :P Just kidding.

    My opinion, which I don't care to debate, is that I shouldn't drink at all while pg. And when my family members drink while pg, it bugs me.

    However, I have heard that some OBs recommend a glass of wine here or there but I don't think I could ever do it.
    Jenn & Jus 1.13.06
    Deacon: 11.11.08
    Kara: 12.27.11


  3. #3
    Site Moderator girlisrad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    10,655

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jenn0113 View Post
    You are probably going to want to move this to the debate board :P Just kidding.

    My opinion, which I don't care to debate, is that I shouldn't drink at all while pg. And when my family members drink while pg, it bugs me.

    However, I have heard that some OBs recommend a glass of wine here or there but I don't think I could ever do it.
    LOL SO not a debate! If it gets spicy I will move it LOL....
    I'm back, baby.

  4. #4
    Posting Addict
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    6,633

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jenn0113 View Post

    My opinion, which I don't care to debate, is that I shouldn't drink at all while pg. And when my family members drink while pg, it bugs me.

    However, I have heard that some OBs recommend a glass of wine here or there but I don't think I could ever do it.
    i agree with this.

    dh has family members who smoked while pregnant and it really irritated me for several reasons...
    Lilypie Third Birthday tickers
    Lilypie First Birthday tickers

  5. #5
    Community Host AnnaRO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,969

    Default

    I also read somewhere, several years ago, that any amount of alcohol during pregnancy is related to lower IQ scores as those children get older.

    My best friend drank (in moderation) while pregnant. I refuse to drink at all while pregnant. I think that since alcohol is not a necessary nutrient, there is no reason at all for a pregnant woman to drink alcohol while pg.
    -Anna
    VBA2C blog





  6. #6
    Prolific Poster mwilliamson006's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    1,153

    Default

    They say one glass of wine every once in a while is fine. But I won't and don't drink during pregnancy, or breast feeding.
    Marianne. SAHM. EBF'ing. Babywearing.
    Photobucket

  7. #7
    Mega Poster VixB's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Northern Ontario
    Posts
    4,016

    Default

    I never drank while pregnant with H and will not if I ever get pregnant again. I'm against it. I have friends who have a glass once in a while, I can't.... I won't.
    Even my midwife drinks occasionally while pregnant and was telling me there was no harm doing so.... but not for me thank you very much.
    Vicky
    Lilypie Kids Birthday tickers

    Lilypie First Birthday tickers

    LilySlim Weight loss tickers

  8. #8
    Posting Addict turtnjay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    NorCal
    Posts
    5,476

    Default

    Shoot, I don't even drink when I'm not preggo so the thought doesn't even cross my mind.

    IDK where I stand on drinking by others while preggo because there is such a variety of 'servings'. But I would feel weird if a friend or family member drank in front of me while preggo. I guess because I just don't get it.
    *Christina*
    DH~Jason
    DS~8/91, DS~12/93, DS~12/93




    No FB comments, please! This is a BIG secret!

  9. #9
    Mega Poster SuzyQ16's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Ontario Canada
    Posts
    4,255

    Default

    I didn't drink when I was pg with DD. The smell of any alcohol made me feel queesy!! I did have a few glasses of wine when I was BF'ing though.

    I suppose if a glass or 2 doesn't hurt the baby then what's the harm??
    Makenna January 1, 2009

    Allyson May 15, 2012



  10. #10
    Posting Addict Starryblue702's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV
    Posts
    6,217

    Default

    I guess in the end women can do what they want, as it's not illegal to drink or smoke while pregnant... although I think it should be, as it's not fair to the baby if you give him/her some form of damage that they wouldn't normally have had (but that's a topic that definitely belongs in the debate board lol!). For me, I would never chance it. I'm not a smoker, so that doesn't concern me... but I do like to drink here and there when I'm not pregnant or BF. I would NEVER drink any alcoholic beverages of any kind while pregnant... it's not worth it. I think I can have some self control and wait until after baby comes.
    Krystal & Donovan - 12/2/06
    Reagan - 10/2/02
    Maximus - 3/10/05
    Liberty - 12/11/08
    Trystan- 11/22/11
    My angel in Heaven 1/7/13

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
v -->

About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Sitemap | Terms & Conditions