name opinions
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: name opinions

  1. #1
    nmc
    nmc is offline
    Supporter nmc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    West Virginia
    Posts
    298

    Default name opinions

    I hate coming up with baby names! Way too much stress involved. I'm looking for some input on names. DH has been set on the name Phoenix since before we met. I didn't like it when we first met and I've grown to being indifferent to the name. Anyway with DD1 we mutually agreed on Avalon (although at the last minute he had the option of choosing Phoenix).

    So now that this baby is a girl, he's back to Phoenix. We both like the name Rayne but it doesn't go with the middle name that we had decided on which is Ried (pronounced reed, a shortened version on my maiden name). So now he is suggesting Phoenix Rayne. I just really don't want to use the middle name as the name we call her because I think that can be frustrating when they get older. But I don't like the way Rayne Phoenix flows.

    So I'm looking for some opinions and/or suggestions.

    Phoenix Rayne (everyone but DH would be calling her Rayne)
    Rayne Phoenix

    (BTW - My first choice is Winter Ried, but he doesn't really care for that.)

  2. #2
    Mega Poster mjones6102's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Vermont
    Posts
    3,534

    Default

    To me Phoenix is a boy's name. With that said though, DH's name is Matthew Gideon but he has always gone by Gideon. His mother knew she was going to call him Gideon, but she thought Matthew Gideon sounded better than Gideon Matthew.

    If you are fine with Phoenix Rayne and calling her Rayne I say go with it. She will have to tell teachers, kids what she prefers to be called, but DH has never really had a problem with it.
    Melissa
    DH: Gideon
    Married: 06/01/2002
    Hadley Christine: 05/17/2008
    Malia Rose: 08/14/2010
    Blog: Our Jones Family Experience


    KISSES!

  3. #3
    Mega Poster VixB's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Northern Ontario
    Posts
    4,016

    Default

    ummm

    Phoenix Reid
    or
    Phoenix Rayne
    would be my choices...
    Vicky
    Lilypie Kids Birthday tickers

    Lilypie First Birthday tickers

    LilySlim Weight loss tickers

  4. #4
    Posting Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    35,413

    Default

    I do think Phoenix Rayne flows better than Rayne Phoenix. My nephew is Jason Cole, his father is Jason, and he has almost always gone by Cole, I don't think it has been a huge deal. For a few years in junior high he did decide to go by Jason, but he has since gone back to Cole.
    Rachel, momma to 4
    dd 9, ds 7, twin boys Dec 09
    I nursed my twins for 2years and 2 weeks! A little sad to be all done now.

  5. #5
    Mega Poster kilahmaree's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    3,442

    Default

    I think I'd go with Rayne Pheonix if you plan on calling her Rayne. But that's just me. I think as she gets older, taking standardized tests, going into the workforce, etc., always having to remember to use her "real" name as opposed to what she's called would get slightly confusing. But I have no experience with it, so I could be wrong.
    Lilypie Third Birthday tickers Lilypie First Birthday tickers

  6. #6
    Mega Poster SuzyQ16's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Ontario Canada
    Posts
    4,255

    Default

    I also think it would be too confusing to name a child one thing but call them something else.

    I would stick with Rayne Phoenix
    Makenna January 1, 2009

    Allyson May 15, 2012



  7. #7
    Mega Poster stuntmonkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Northern Virginia
    Posts
    2,861

    Default

    I think choosing the first name you prefer is far more important than the overall flow of the name. Obviously, both would be the goal, but if I had to pick between a first name I loved or a name combo that I loved the flow of, I'd definitely pick the better first name. Middle names are really not used much at all after birth announcements.

    I'm not a fan of Phoenix or Rayne, so I can't help you there.

    What about Renee? Similar vein to Rayne but a little less trendy and more timeless?

    Or what about Phoebe? Not my favorite, but definitely more classic than Phoenix.
    Jamie & Brian, married 5/22/04
    Jocelyn Victoria, born 12/22/08
    Elliott James, born 3/18/10


    *****

  8. #8
    Posting Addict mujul79's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    upstate NY
    Posts
    45,845

    Default

    If mine was a girl she would have been Raine.

  9. #9
    Posting Addict turtnjay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    NorCal
    Posts
    5,476

    Default

    Love the name Winter!

    DS#4 goes by his middle name, Rourke. Mostly because I thought it flowed better as William Rourke rather than Rourke William. If this baby is another boy, he will have the same thing. I don't find it too difficult, most places have him on record as Rourke and schools always ask about nicknames or preferred names.

    Anyway, back to your dilemma...

    I like Rayne Phoenix better because otherwise it sounds like weather in a city...Phoenix Rayne. I quite like Phoenix Reid, too. Though Winter would have my first vote if it was on the table.
    *Christina*
    DH~Jason
    DS~8/91, DS~12/93, DS~12/93




    No FB comments, please! This is a BIG secret!

  10. #10
    Super Poster Dylemma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    616

    Default

    My DH is J Michael and has always been called Michael and yes his first name is just the initial J not Jay. He has never had issues with it. Only time I see issues is when we go somewhere and they call him by J in a waiting room for example he has no clue they are talking to him until I tell him lol
    DH Michael together since 1998
    03/2000
    DD 08/2001
    DD 09/2007
    DS 10/2011

     Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
v -->

About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Sitemap | Terms & Conditions