Second Opinion
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Second Opinion

  1. #1
    Contributor
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    53

    Default Second Opinion

    Hey! New here! I'm due with my first on Dec. 6. We found out a few weeks ago that it's a boy! YAY! DH and I have decided on Sullivan, nickname Sully, but we're keeping it a secret. The only problem with keeping it a secret is that I don't get a second opinion..so, that's why I'm here! What do you think of Sullivan Daniel. We have a VERY long last name, and have given up on trying to work with it It starts with R and is 4 syllables. So, yeah...no matter what the kid's gonna have a long name

  2. #2
    Prolific Poster brookie13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,230

    Default

    im not going to lie.. its not my favourite. that being said.. its not terrible.. i think its the nicename Sully.. i actually like Sullivan.. Sully just doesnt do anything for me.

    But whats important is that you like it. I got alot of negative comments when i was naming DS Paxton. DH and I didnt tell people the actual name.. we kept them happy by telling them we had a few we were tossing around, Paxton being one of them. my family HATED it.. like detested it, thought i was giving my child a name that would forever torment him... now hes two and they all love it.. my mom actually said to me that she couldnt imagine him with a different name, and she was the biggest critic in the beginning.

    as for having a long name... could you find a shorter middle name? like Sullivan James, Sullivan Dean, Sullivan Reid, Sullivan Jace, Sullivan Ryan? i know it doesnt make a big difference but it might help with the flow of the name.

    good luck with your choice. and have a great pregnancy.. congrats on the boy!
    Brooke
    DH Jamie
    Paxton James-2/8/2008
    Hayden Alexandra- 12/5/2009
    Finn Hudson- 06/25/2012


  3. #3
    Prolific Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    1,334

    Default

    It's not my style (I'm not big on the family-as-first name trend) but it is kind of nice. I think you would have a couple nickname choices as well (Van, Evan). My worry would be that because sully is a word with a quite negative meaning that it might not be appropriate for a little boy.

  4. #4
    Contributor
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    53

    Default

    I'm not too worried about Sully as a nickname. It's not a frequently used term, so I don't think many people would make the association. I went to college with a Sully, and no one ever mentioned it. And Daniel or Michael are the nicknames we have to choose from...they are family names. Our other name is Drake, but we just found out that DH's cousin is engaged to a Drake, so that went out the window.

  5. #5
    Mega Poster kittenchan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    4,217

    Default

    I like Sullivan Daniel I don't really care for the nickname Sully but if you like it, go for it!
    ~~~Lisa~~~

    Callie Ruth *** June 4, 2008

    Conor Brian *** October 4, 2011

    baby

    My October Space

  6. #6
    Prolific Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    1,334

    Default

    I do like this Sully:

  7. #7
    Mega Poster VixB's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Northern Ontario
    Posts
    4,016

    Default

    It is very nice. I really like it. Sullivan is a not too common name and sounds good with Daniel.
    Vicky
    Lilypie Kids Birthday tickers

    Lilypie First Birthday tickers

    LilySlim Weight loss tickers

  8. #8
    Contributor
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    53

    Default

    blather, I like that sully too!

    I just want to meet this kid already and see if the name fits!

  9. #9
    Supporter Elliottsmom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    327

    Default

    I really like both Sullivan and Sully! Kind of different, but not unusual or anything Congrats!
    ~*~Jenn~*~
    mommy to Jeremy, Nicholas, Hannah, Maddi, Harrison, Elliott, and
    Callum

    "Religions are all alike – founded upon fables and mythologies."


  10. #10
    Supporter onelittlemonkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    279

    Default

    I like Sullivan Daniel, but agree with the majority of posters here that I wouldn't use Sully as a nickname. Personally, I'd go with Ivan or Van but if you like it, go for it.
    Amber and Chris 12-8-2006
    Caden Lucas 8-26-2008
    Levi 9-19-2009


+ Reply to Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
v -->

About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Sitemap | Terms & Conditions