Some opinions please (long)
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Some opinions please (long)

  1. #1
    Supporter mrsjohnson310's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    359

    Default Some opinions please (long)

    So we are having a baby boy, due in July and I am soooooo indecisive when it comes to pretty much anything so I am having a heck of a time choosing a baby name. DH isn't TOO picky, but he doesn't like "made up names" or weird spellings and a lot of the boy names I like are very modern and in his opinion "made-up". Anyways, here are some ideas we have on the table right now that he has already ok'd and my opinions for/against.

    Linden/Lyndon/Lynden - Would still need to decide on the spelling, this is DH's favorite and I actually really love the name, the only thing REALLY holding me back is that our last name is Johnson hence giving our little boy the same full name as a US president (we are Canadian so we are arguing as to how much people will actually care) What do you ladies think? (maybe mention if you are Canadian/US/other) Also which spelling? I prefer Lyndon which is exactly as the pres was spelled, but Lynden is good too. DH prefers Linden because of the hockey player, Trevor Linden, who played on for favorite team. Oh also, no nickname! (I am worried about the potential teasing factor of "Lyn" which is a girls nickname)

    Owen - I love this name a lot too, this is DH's least fav, but he has said he'd be ok with it. Downside, I like the idea of having a nickname and I kinda dislike there wouldn't be a nickname for Owen, but at least no girlie potential either! Only thing here too is that Owen has become very popular the last few years and I would prefer something that at least he won't be one of 3 in his class! (Owen has been in the top 10 boys names for the last 3 years in our province)

    Alexander - I think this name is leading right now for me. I like both the nicknames Alex and Xander, but again - it is very popular. I can't even think of anything else I don't like about this name... Oh I almost forgot, the ring bearer at my parents wedding was a little boy named Alex who unfortunately passed away when he was 16 from muscular dystrophy, I still talk to his younger brother and my parents still friends with his parents so I think I should talk to them maybe before using the name? My mom likes the idea of using the name, and thinks their family would be ok with it but my thought is maybe the brother had/has intentions of using the name when he has his family? I mean we aren't THAT close, don't even live in the same city, but I wouldn't want to take away from the meaning for them... KWIM?

    For middle names we are thinking possibly Michael (my dads name, sounds especially good with Owen IMO), or I like Alexander Brandt (no family connection) and am even now thinking that Lyndon Alexander sounds good too (a compromise?)

    Any opinions are welcome, I guess I am mostly wondering what you guys think of my rationale for each name, do you think I'm over analyzing? (DH does) Any other suggestions? How do you think the potential names sound with our last name? I feel our last name is very restricting because I don't like alliterations much (Jack Johnson, Josh Johnson, James Johnson) and I don't want names that end in "on" either. Again, too repetitive. (Again DH thinks I have ridiculous rules!)

    Looking back on how long this is, I am beginning to agree with DH that maybe I AM overanalyzing every little thing!!!
    Troy and Nicole - March 10th, 2010
    Alexander Michael - June 27th, 2011


  2. #2
    Mega Poster beckiwill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Saint Louis
    Posts
    2,916

    Default

    Okay well, I am going to say that I do not like made up names either... however lots of people (who apparently arent very bright) consider our sons names to be "made up". Anyways... I really like different names, and I think a lot of people assume if you dont hear it everywhere, a name is weird.

    I do think you may be overanalyzing the names a little bit... like with the name Alexander, it is a popular enough name that they couldnt possibly be upset IMO. HOWEVER, based on what I read above, you dont truly LOVE any of those names and you (and DH) are compromising. When you truly find THE name you wont care if it starts with a J or ends in ON.

    I would stay away from Lyndon Johnson, but then again I am American, so I dont know how many canadians are that familiar with him...

    Sorry I couldnt be more help. In my opinion I dont really like any of the names youve chosen, because I prefer my names to be off the beaten path a ways.
    Becki
    DH Rick, DS Orion 11/11/04, DS Griffin 10/17/09


    LO#3 Due July 25, 2012!!!

  3. #3
    Mega Poster mjones6102's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Vermont
    Posts
    3,534

    Default

    I really like the name Lyndon, but if my name was Johnson, I wouldn't use it. I am American though, so being Canadian it might be different. I like names that are not very common and you don't hear all of the time. I like Owen and Alexander, but they are not names I would choose personally. I agree that once you find THE name you will know it. It will just feel right and you won't even want to consider other names.
    Melissa
    DH: Gideon
    Married: 06/01/2002
    Hadley Christine: 05/17/2008
    Malia Rose: 08/14/2010
    Blog: Our Jones Family Experience


    KISSES!

  4. #4
    Prolific Poster xMyLovelyLadyBumpx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Nomansland, Indiana
    Posts
    1,354

    Default

    I think you are thinking to much about finding the perfect name!

    Lindon is adorable, and I am from America, but I dont think other peoples opinions should matter, its not their kid. [Linny could be a great boys nickname]
    I dont like the name Alexander, the biggest reason being that it is very common and used alot. I am personally think Zander is more original and less used.
    Owen is very cute, I have noticed an increase of the number of people and kiddos with the name but I think it would be a cute middle name if you want a more original name (:

    How about sharing some of the names your DH hasnt been fond of? What are YOUR personal favorites!?
    Ashley[24] Shane[26]
    [1/2008 & 11/2010]
    {I beat CervicalCancer}



  5. #5
    Supporter mrsjohnson310's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    359

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by xMyLovelyLadyBumpx View Post

    How about sharing some of the names your DH hasnt been fond of? What are YOUR personal favorites!?
    First off, thanks everyone for your opinions, I really do appreciate it!

    Honestly I can't even think of a bunch of others because my mind has been so focussed on the ones that we "agreed" on the past few weeks, and he is saying that I can pick from here so I just keeping tossing around different variations and combinations of these names. I guess maybe since none are sticking yet, we do need to keep looking?

    One of my favorites that Dh vetoed is Matthias. I think Matty is really cute for a baby boy, and Matt is good solid "growing up" nick name that would fit in, but the name itself I think is unique which I love! Also I think Matthias Johnson sounds great together! It's not that he accuses this name of being "made-up" but that it sounds "foreign"/European when we are as Canadian/North American as they come.

    I went in today and had a 3D ultrasound (which was super fun) so I was mentally calling the baby different names to see what worked, but I was so busy socializing with the tech (who is a friend of mine) that I didn't really give it enough thought. On Wednesday night (I'm out of town until then) I'm hoping Troy and I can huddle around the computer and look at the baby together and maybe come to some sort of decision? I think it will help to see the baby and call him by the name, if that makes sense?

    I totally get that no matter what the baby is named not everyone will love it, and there will always be things that come up, but it seems silly to me to use the name Lyndon knowing of the connection that will obviously made (even if not super frequently).

    I am still being completely indecisive...
    Troy and Nicole - March 10th, 2010
    Alexander Michael - June 27th, 2011


  6. #6
    Prolific Poster xMyLovelyLadyBumpx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Nomansland, Indiana
    Posts
    1,354

    Default

    [QUOTE=mrsjohnson310;8428934]One of my favorites that Dh vetoed is Matthias. I think Matty is really cute for a baby boy, and Matt is good solid "growing up" nick name that would fit in, but the name itself I think is unique which I love! Also I think Matthias Johnson sounds great together! It's not that he accuses this name of being "made-up" but that it sounds "foreign"/European when we are as Canadian/North American as they come.

    I went in today and had a 3D ultrasound (which was super fun) so I was mentally calling the baby different names to see what worked, but I was so busy socializing with the tech (who is a friend of mine) that I didn't really give it enough thought. On Wednesday night (I'm out of town until then) I'm hoping Troy and I can huddle around the computer and look at the baby together and maybe come to some sort of decision? I think it will help to see the baby and call him by the name, if that makes sense?
    [QUOTE]

    I like that name Matthias, its different and rememberable. Plus Matty/Matt are adorable (: On the note of it being foreign, my mom wanted to name me Annastasia, but was talked out of it because it sounded to "high class" for a girl in the country to name her child [so said my grandmother to my mother] My mom said she regreted it every day! I regret not naming my daughter what I wanted too, and that I was talked out of a name I LOVED and knew was a perfect name for my DD.

    I also did the "name the baby with ultra sound pics" thing lol Everyone thought I was nuts! I still didnt get to name her what i wanted to tho which stinks, so I am NOT letting anyone talk me out of the perfect name for the next one!

    Im sure you will find the PERFECT name for your munchkin(:
    Ashley[24] Shane[26]
    [1/2008 & 11/2010]
    {I beat CervicalCancer}



  7. #7
    Posting Addict Julz806's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    5,238

    Default

    Owen is my fav on your list. I know a little boy named Owen and his nickname is Odie.

    Linden is ok to me... not my fav, and not awful

    Blessed with 2 beautiful girls:
    Emorie 8-23-07
    Ada 6-24-09

  8. #8
    Posting Addict renee24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Alaska
    Posts
    10,118

    Default

    I love Matthias. I think its adorable
    Tiff + Bobby 8/22/04
    Logan 3/3/07
    Rya 7/7/09
    Willow 5/26/11

  9. #9
    Posting Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    35,417

    Default

    I am American also, so could not do Lyndon with Johnson, not a fan anyhow. Owen and Alexander are both cute, but as you said, very popular. I really like Matthias though. I don't think it is foreign, just biblical. Good luck!
    Rachel, momma to 4
    dd 9, ds 7, twin boys Dec 09
    I nursed my twins for 2years and 2 weeks! A little sad to be all done now.

  10. #10
    Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    14

    Default

    My little boy is Owen, so I'm partial to that one. But I'm sure that your friends would be very touched if you named your son Alexander.... I don't think they would mind at all. I'm sure it would bring them a lot of joy to know that you remember their son so fondly and wish to use his name. You could name him Alexander and call him Xander... that way it wouldn't seem too common.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
v -->

About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Sitemap | Terms & Conditions