Some opinions please (long) - Page 2
+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 19 of 19

Thread: Some opinions please (long)

  1. #11
    Posting Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    CANADA!! The home of double-doubles, hockey, poutine, and the letter "eh" :P
    Posts
    41,648

    Default

    I'm Canadian so wouldn't have picked up on the "Lyndon Johnson" thing

    I think I like Owen best of your list of three... Lyndon just doesn't do it for me and Alexander just isn't "different" enough (I like names that are a little bit different/uncommon, but not outlandishly so). As for being called "Lyn"... my BIL's middle name is Lynn and I had a male optometrist once who's first name was "Lynn"... apparently it is an old male name (I guess like Ashley, Shannon, Meredith, Beverly, etc. used to be it ended up nowdays being associated only with girls).

    I think Matthias is nice too... good and strong... familiar, but not as common as Matthew.

  2. #12
    Mega Poster stuntmonkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Northern Virginia
    Posts
    2,861

    Default

    1. Do NOT name your child "Linden Johnson." That was a president, and every adult he meets will think it's strange and so will kids once they learn about Pres. Johnson. That's just too unusual a first name to use it with Johnson and not have it be weird that it is the name of a former president. If your last name was Washington, would you name your son George? I wouldn't.

    Owen and Alexander are very nice names. Both popular, but very classic, nice, masculine names.
    Jamie & Brian, married 5/22/04
    Jocelyn Victoria, born 12/22/08
    Elliott James, born 3/18/10


    *****

  3. #13
    Posting Addict joysiloo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,051

    Default

    I don't mind Lyndon and I'm American. Before you do it though, you might want to read up a bit on the former president and make sure he was someone you would have voted for.

    I love Matthias. You still have awhile to work on it with your DH.

    Both Owen and Alexander are a little too common for me.
    Daphne Jo 12.29.08 Cormac Thomas 08.25.11




  4. #14
    Posting Addict mlle_carrie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Somewhere out there
    Posts
    5,315

    Default

    Of all these names, Owen is my favorite, but like the others said, I think it's a bit too popular right now for my taste.

    I am American, and I would definitely avoid the name Lyndon.

    Matthias is not a bad name, but it made me think of another one I like better. Have you thought about Thaddeus, nickname Thad? I dunno...just has a nice ring to it.

    Good luck and let us know what you decide!
    Carrie

    DD ~ Evelyn Joy ~ December 14, 2011

    Read more about my infertility struggle at www.ascenicdetour.com




  5. #15
    Mega Poster VixB's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Northern Ontario
    Posts
    4,016

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mrsjohnson310 View Post
    So we are having a baby boy, due in July and I am soooooo indecisive when it comes to pretty much anything so I am having a heck of a time choosing a baby name. DH isn't TOO picky, but he doesn't like "made up names" or weird spellings and a lot of the boy names I like are very modern and in his opinion "made-up". Anyways, here are some ideas we have on the table right now that he has already ok'd and my opinions for/against.

    Linden/Lyndon/Lynden - Would still need to decide on the spelling, this is DH's favorite and I actually really love the name, the only thing REALLY holding me back is that our last name is Johnson hence giving our little boy the same full name as a US president (we are Canadian so we are arguing as to how much people will actually care) What do you ladies think? (maybe mention if you are Canadian/US/other) Also which spelling? I prefer Lyndon which is exactly as the pres was spelled, but Lynden is good too. DH prefers Linden because of the hockey player, Trevor Linden, who played on for favorite team. Oh also, no nickname! (I am worried about the potential teasing factor of "Lyn" which is a girls nickname)
    Linden is the one I like best. And I'm Canadian so don't care about the same name as President thing. I actually very like Linden Alexander Johnson. very nice.

    Owen - I love this name a lot too, this is DH's least fav, but he has said he'd be ok with it. Downside, I like the idea of having a nickname and I kinda dislike there wouldn't be a nickname for Owen, but at least no girlie potential either! Only thing here too is that Owen has become very popular the last few years and I would prefer something that at least he won't be one of 3 in his class! (Owen has been in the top 10 boys names for the last 3 years in our province)

    Alexander - I think this name is leading right now for me. I like both the nicknames Alex and Xander, but again - it is very popular. I can't even think of anything else I don't like about this name... Oh I almost forgot, the ring bearer at my parents wedding was a little boy named Alex who unfortunately passed away when he was 16 from muscular dystrophy, I still talk to his younger brother and my parents still friends with his parents so I think I should talk to them maybe before using the name? My mom likes the idea of using the name, and thinks their family would be ok with it but my thought is maybe the brother had/has intentions of using the name when he has his family? I mean we aren't THAT close, don't even live in the same city, but I wouldn't want to take away from the meaning for them... KWIM?

    For middle names we are thinking possibly Michael (my dads name, sounds especially good with Owen IMO), or I like Alexander Brandt (no family connection) and am even now thinking that Lyndon Alexander sounds good too (a compromise?)

    Any opinions are welcome, I guess I am mostly wondering what you guys think of my rationale for each name, do you think I'm over analyzing? (DH does) Any other suggestions? How do you think the potential names sound with our last name? I feel our last name is very restricting because I don't like alliterations much (Jack Johnson, Josh Johnson, James Johnson) and I don't want names that end in "on" either. Again, too repetitive. (Again DH thinks I have ridiculous rules!)

    Looking back on how long this is, I am beginning to agree with DH that maybe I AM overanalyzing every little thing!!!
    Vicky
    Lilypie Kids Birthday tickers

    Lilypie First Birthday tickers

    LilySlim Weight loss tickers

  6. #16
    Supporter mrsjohnson310's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    359

    Default

    Just thought I would share an update....

    Our baby boy is going to be... Alexander Michael Johnson

    I don't know how to explain how I came to this decision, but we were on vacation last week and had a lot of time to discuss the names, and I really just came to the conclusion that I could "see" us with a baby Alex... it just FELT right and that an Alex would make a perfect addition to our family

    Thanks everyone for your feedback and comments - I truly appreciate all your thoughts.
    Troy and Nicole - March 10th, 2010
    Alexander Michael - June 27th, 2011


  7. #17
    Mega Poster stuntmonkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Northern Virginia
    Posts
    2,861

    Default

    Love it! Great name.
    Jamie & Brian, married 5/22/04
    Jocelyn Victoria, born 12/22/08
    Elliott James, born 3/18/10


    *****

  8. #18
    Posting Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    35,417

    Default

    Congrats on deciding on a name! Alex is a great name.
    Rachel, momma to 4
    dd 9, ds 7, twin boys Dec 09
    I nursed my twins for 2years and 2 weeks! A little sad to be all done now.

  9. #19
    Posting Addict Starryblue702's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV
    Posts
    6,217

    Default

    Lol I would shy away from naming your son Lyndon Johnson... sorry! Canadian or not the name is the name. I like Alexander, that's my son's middle name... as long as no one calls him Alex (I hate abbreviations or nicknames)! If you named him Alexander, the middle name would need to be two syllables to sound best... good luck!
    Krystal & Donovan - 12/2/06
    Reagan - 10/2/02
    Maximus - 3/10/05
    Liberty - 12/11/08
    Trystan- 11/22/11
    My angel in Heaven 1/7/13

+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
v -->

About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Sitemap | Terms & Conditions