Suggestions and opinions please
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Suggestions and opinions please

  1. #1
    Super Poster dejah t's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    468

    Default Suggestions and opinions please

    Hi,

    Just looking for some suggestions/opinion on a middle name for our second son due in August.
    We like names that aren't common for the first name, but something that people at least know how to spell and are definite 'boy' names for the middle name. Also want it to be short and prefer one syllable though two would be ok. Name meaning is also important to me and I've already vetoed some names due to this.
    Our first son's name is Delavan Leo just to give you an idea of our taste (Delavan is an old Irish name meaning good friend - love this name meaning so much)
    The name we want for the new baby is Olin (meaning 'of the ancestors' or 'holly' - don't love these meaning but love the name and nickname 'Ollie').
    So we're looking at Olin _____ D***ey M**key. The second middle name is my last name which our first son has also (I kept my name when we married).
    Some names we've thought of:
    -Joe (hubby likes this me not so much)
    -Wolf (both like this but might sound like 'lone wolf'?)
    -Jabez (from great great grandfather but means 'borne in sorrow' so a no-go for me)
    -Lennox (hubbys fav but initials would spell OLD M**key)

    I can't seem to find any reasonably common short names that I like that also don't spell words with the initials.

    Any suggestions or comments will be appreciated. Sorry for the novel!
    Manda

    pregnancy week by week

    baby growth

  2. #2
    Prolific Poster brookie13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,230

    Default

    Olin Cole
    Olin Gage
    Olin Finn
    Olin Pax
    Olin Jett
    Olin Kade/Cade
    Olin Knox
    Olin Rhys
    Olin Zane
    Olin Sean
    Olin Blaise/Blaze
    Brooke
    DH Jamie
    Paxton James-2/8/2008
    Hayden Alexandra- 12/5/2009
    Finn Hudson- 06/25/2012


  3. #3
    Super Poster dejah t's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    468

    Default

    Thanks for your input Brooke
    I forgot to put it on the list of ones we've considered, but Olin Jett was my top choice. Hubby didn't like it though, he hadn't heard of it before and thought people would think of jet planes. I am definitely showing him your suggestions tonight, maybe he'll reconsider...?
    I like some of the others on your list too, so thanks for giving me some names to think about.
    Manda

    pregnancy week by week

    baby growth

  4. #4
    Prolific Poster xMyLovelyLadyBumpx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Nomansland, Indiana
    Posts
    1,354

    Default

    Olin Maddox
    Olin Gage
    Olin Paxton
    Olin Rex
    Olin Ryder
    Ashley[24] Shane[26]
    [1/2008 & 11/2010]
    {I beat CervicalCancer}



  5. #5
    Mega Poster mjones6102's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Vermont
    Posts
    3,534

    Default

    Name meaning meant a lot to my parents as well.

    My brother's middle names are:
    Edward (guardian)
    Casey (brave)
    Melissa
    DH: Gideon
    Married: 06/01/2002
    Hadley Christine: 05/17/2008
    Malia Rose: 08/14/2010
    Blog: Our Jones Family Experience


    KISSES!

  6. #6
    Mega Poster stuntmonkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Northern Virginia
    Posts
    2,861

    Default

    I like Olin Joseph

    (I think the middle name "Joe" sounds like it should be a girl's middle name, like "Bobbi Jo," etc. I hate those combinations for a girl, and I would not use "Joe" as a boy's middle name because of them.)
    Jamie & Brian, married 5/22/04
    Jocelyn Victoria, born 12/22/08
    Elliott James, born 3/18/10


    *****

  7. #7
    Super Poster dejah t's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    468

    Default

    We're still no closer to agreeing on a middle name yet, but I wanted to say thanks to everyone who's posted.
    Hubby seems to veto every name I suggest (including my favs from those suggested above) and I don't like any that he suggests. Hmmm. His favourite is still Joe, which I don't like. Like Jamie points out it would need to be Joseph anyway so it didn't sound unisex/feminine.
    I guess it's just as well we've still got a couple of months to figure it out, but I'm just completely over trying to find a middle name we both like
    Manda

    pregnancy week by week

    baby growth

  8. #8
    Posting Addict Starryblue702's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV
    Posts
    6,213

    Default

    What about a color, like Blue? Lol I only say because that's my middle name, and although it's unusual, it actually sounds pretty cool with Olin lol!
    Krystal & Donovan - 12/2/06
    Reagan - 10/2/02
    Maximus - 3/10/05
    Liberty - 12/11/08
    Trystan- 11/22/11
    My angel in Heaven 1/7/13

+ Reply to Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
v -->

About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Sitemap | Terms & Conditions