your opinion of the name George
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23

Thread: your opinion of the name George

  1. #1
    Posting Addict CamelNoodle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    12,268

    Default your opinion of the name George

    I would like to hear your personal opinion of the name George.
    Do you like it? Do you not like it? What kind of person does it make you think of?
    Do you know any Georges? Do you know any young children named George?

    Please feel free to be honest, this is your opinion. It's what I'm looking for.

    Thanks!

    Janel
    William 10/6/2004
    Visit his CaringBridge
    Joseph stillborn 01/08/2007
    Thomas 05/05/2008
    John 6/5/2010
    m/c 12/23/2012
    m/c 01/02/2014 twin angels

  2. #2
    Community Host
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    13,667

    Default

    My BFF had a baby boy the same week I had my DD. She named him George (we all call him Georgie though, for now) and it suits him to a T. I think it's a great old fashioned/classic choice.

    I think of George Clooney, anyway...*drool*
    ~Jordan~

  3. #3
    Posting Addict VickiS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Cambridgeshire, UK
    Posts
    6,287

    Default

    Love it. Masculine, simple, good on a boy, good on a man, doesn't date.

    And yep the Clooney association doesn't hurt ether!
    ****************
    Vicki

    Lilypie Third Birthday tickers Lilypie First Birthday tickers

  4. #4
    Contributor seven007's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    5

    Default

    I"m sorry. I'm not a fan of the name. I knew a kid named George growing up and he was one strange guy. Now it makes me think of George from Seinfeild.

  5. #5
    Posting Addict HeatherAnn817's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Stars Hallow
    Posts
    14,521

    Default

    I have to admit, I don't like the name either. To me, its an old man name.
    Mommy to DD (8 years) and DS (8 years)


  6. #6
    brooklynkc1023
    Guest

    Default

    I think of George W. Bush.... I don't think it's a terrible name.

  7. #7
    Super Poster
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    728

    Default

    I have a friend with a little brother George - he's a very smart and fun boy!

    I also think of George Clooney and Curious George... plus the old cartoon "I will hug him, and squeeze him, and call him George." I would be doing that constantly to a baby George, hah.



  8. #8
    Mega Poster SuzyQ16's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Ontario Canada
    Posts
    4,255

    Default

    I think George is a great name, it makes me think of Dr George O malley from Grey's Anatomy. He's not on the show any more but he died a hero! I have a cousin who named her little guy George, he's about 10 years old now and he doesn' seem to mind the name too much.
    Makenna January 1, 2009

    Allyson May 15, 2012



  9. #9
    Prolific Poster Lil Momma 1991's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Detroit Area
    Posts
    1,294

    Default

    I went to about 11 schools before I graduated high school so I got to meet alot of people and over the years I have meet several george's. and I have found them all to be over loud and abonoxious. They are extremely rude and the older one were always druggies and wanna be who didnt end up doing much with my life. But on the other hand I knew several who were great guys. I dont htink the name definds the person but how their parents raise them. Its not my favorite name tho. I wouldnt name my son that. Even tho George Clooney is HOT
    Kendra & Bob 7/4/13
     Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
     Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker


  10. #10
    Mega Poster stuntmonkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Northern Virginia
    Posts
    2,861

    Default

    I don't like it. To me, it is an old person's name. Some names sound great for kids but don't really sound good for adults. And some names don't sound right for a kid but sound fine for an adult. That's how I think of the name George.

    I know two people named George. One is my uncle, and one is the husband of a friend.
    Jamie & Brian, married 5/22/04
    Jocelyn Victoria, born 12/22/08
    Elliott James, born 3/18/10


    *****

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
v -->

About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Sitemap | Terms & Conditions