Some pics and my linen RS review
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Some pics and my linen RS review

  1. #1
    Posting Addict Marite13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Southeast Asia
    Posts
    7,537

    Default Some pics and my linen RS review







    Finally got around to taking some pics... so I think I'm wearing him pretty well. He certainly is comfortable and sleeps any time I put him in there!

    I gotta say, a few weeks ago I was brushing up on using the RS properly, and I heard or read somewhere that most people wear their slings on their non-dominant shoulder. I'm pretty sure I usually wear on my dominant one- but largely because when DD is in the RS its in a hip carry, which I want on my non-dominant side- which means the sling is on the right shoulder, you know? I think this is just what I was used to with the RS....well, tonight we went for a walk, and I realized why you'd want to wear it on the non-dominant side (don't laugh at me if this is totally obvious to everyone else!)....I realized that my left arm had totally free, complete range of motion, whereas my right (dominant) is totally restrained by the sling! So I might try it on the other side next time I wear it!!

    So, other than that... I have to say... I LOVE the linen for the cool factor! It is so much cooler than the Maya RS! So I am VERY glad I got it for that reason.

    My only complaint, which is not just about the linen one, but about RSes in general...I can't get my rails to stay where they are meant to. That was one of the things I watched videos for... to make sure I was threading it right and then adjusting it correctly. Well, I only carry Z in that belly to belly carry that I am using in my pics... so I can mostly keep the outer rail where it should be... but the inner rail (meaning the one that is against my body in the carry, but actually on the outer edge of the rings), no matter what I do, will not stay on the outside at the rings... does that make sense? Even when I have JUST rethreaded it properly, as soon as I try to adjust it, that rail slides over the other fabric, bunching in toward the middle. This is happening with both my linen sling and my Maya. Any advice?
    Mara & Joel, 2009




  2. #2
    Posting Addict TiggersMommy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    8,390

    Default

    Ooooooh what a chunky little ball of perfection you have there! Zintus is so freaking cute.

    I'm too many glasses of wine deep to read your post. Much less respond. But OMG cutie!!!!
    Erin
    DD Teagan 9/25/10
    Lilypie Fourth Birthday tickers
    Lilypie Pregnancy tickers
    SShhhhhhh, we're not FB official.

  3. #3
    Posting Addict Marite13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Southeast Asia
    Posts
    7,537

    Default

    Ha! Erin! That was funny!!!
    Mara & Joel, 2009




  4. #4
    Posting Addict cactuswren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    8,144

    Default

    He is adorable!!!

    Glad to hear the linen is so much cooler...that's good to know where we are, living inside a hair dryer.

    When you adjust the rail, which direction are you pulling it? Are you pulling it up and out, vs. down? It's been so long since I dealt with this in practice that I can't remember if I had an issue with that or not, but I do remember the video stressing the direction you pull the fabric being super important to keeping it straight...hm. I'll have to muck around later so I can properly assist my preggo friends here who have all been thoroughly proselytized to about BW
    -Leigh-
    DD Adair Lucille 7/6/10
    DD Faye Louise 10/19/13

    Lilypie First Birthday tickers

  5. #5
    Posting Addict alwayssmile's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    I forget.
    Posts
    19,085

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TiggersMommy View Post
    Ooooooh what a chunky little ball of perfection you have there! Zintus is so freaking cute.

    I'm too many glasses of wine deep to read your post. Much less respond. But OMG cutie!!!!
    Oh my!

    And ditto to watching how you pull the two rails. You don't pull them the same way. For the inside rail pull out, away from the carrier if you're having issues with pulling down. My inner rail tends to overlap some, but just barely.

    I love baby BWing photos.

  6. #6
    Posting Addict TiggersMommy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    8,390

    Default

    OK, sober now! I used to switch between shoulders a lot. Mostly to even out the stress on my back. I wanna say that I preferred the rings on my dominant shoulder because I was able to get her in there and comfy more easily. My sling kinda sucked for threading. The rings are way to small and so it was a pain to adjust. So, sorry I'm no help there. I'm glad the linen is working out for you! I'll probably go that route when I get a new sling for Next Baby.

  7. #7
    Posting Addict cactuswren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    8,144

    Default

    I usually wore on my dominant shoulder too, but that's because of the weird cradle hold DD insisted on...it left my dominant arm MORE free to have the ring on that side, because baby was on the other side and I had to reach around her head and/or risk elbowing her in the face if I wanted to use that arm much.
    -Leigh-
    DD Adair Lucille 7/6/10
    DD Faye Louise 10/19/13

    Lilypie First Birthday tickers

  8. #8
    Posting Addict tink9702's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    5,610

    Default

    great pics! I think I might need a linen RS now!
    ~~Mel

    Ethan - June 21, 2009
    Olivia - December 5, 2010
    5w3d - October/November 2012

    My Ovulation Chart

  9. #9
    Posting Addict alwayssmile's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    I forget.
    Posts
    19,085

    Default

    I can only wear a RS on my left shoulder. I've tried demoing a RS on the right shoulder and totally failed. It's like I have two left feet for hands suddenly when it comes to adjusting.

  10. #10
    Posting Addict Marite13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Southeast Asia
    Posts
    7,537

    Default

    I keep meaning to come back here... and then forgetting to!

    So, yeah, I think I'm pulling the rails in the right direction- the outer one pull down, and the inner one out. I don't know... maybe as it wears in it will work better?

    Also, over here in Michigan it's been in the high 90s and then hitting like 102/103, with a heat index of something like 120 this past week... and let me tell you... that is just TOO HOT for a sling, FULL STOP. The humidity is high too... so as soon as you walk outside you're sweaty. We went for evening walks a couple times this week, and I literally just had sweat dripping down my face (GROSS) and Z was just in a diaper and we were just sweating against each other. Ugh.
    Mara & Joel, 2009




+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
v -->

About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Sitemap | Terms & Conditions