Opinions needed, OB vs Midwife
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: Opinions needed, OB vs Midwife

  1. #1
    Posting Addict jolly11sd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    California
    Posts
    8,581

    Default Opinions needed, OB vs Midwife

    I'm hitting a wall here and am so frustrated. Just need to hear some opinions from others.

    When it comes to NCB, and options/pressure/support during prenatal care and delivery, how did you feel about your OB or MW? If you've used one of each feel free to compare.

    Background (long, read if interested):
    DS1 was born via c/s due to prolonged labor/failure to progress (if I had just known more then, anyway). Had a hospital MW but OB was my assigned person once I hit the hospital. DS2 was a planned home birth, with non-emergency hospital transfer at the end of labor, and a sucessful VBAC. Obviously I was with a HBMW all of pregnancy and then had a random OB at the hospital went to. So this pregancy we are planning on a hospital birth since the out of pocket expense on another home birth so close to the last just isn't possible. I've been seeing an OB (jerk) in my small town that won't deliver me unless I agree to a c/s because that is our small town hospital policy even after having a prior VBAC (lame). The hospital we had DS2 in was horrible and the doctor there screwed up big time as DS2 came out so we won't be going back there even though they are VBAC friendly. So DH and I have been searching high and low for a hosptial that will let me have (another) VBAC and finally came up with an awesome in hospital birth center an hour away. They promised the moon at this place and gave me the list of MW's I could contact. I arrived for my first MW appointment (with a MW group connected to the hospital) today and the MW was not there because she was was in a c/s with a client (?). Ok, book another appointment for next week and get all the paperwork and junk done with the nurses. Then on my drive home I get a call from the MW saying that I'm not actually going to be able to be seen any MW's because they don't see VBAC ladies (even after having one already) and refers me to an OB in her practice. I called another group that delivers at that hospital as well and the same thing. Ugh. I pretty much cried the rest of the way home. I'm so frustrated. I don't dislike OB's but I've never had any good experiences with them and I really worried about them not being NCB friendly, totally non-supportive of VBAC's, and pushy with interventions. I probably should just go and meet one or find another hospital with MW's but I'm still just so upset.

    My dad went on and on this weekend about how I should just have another c/s so I don't kill myself , which totally lead to an argument. He is uneducated about the whole 'birth thing' as he calls it. And the OB I've been seeing is so horrible and never tells me anything about during appointments. My last appointment he told me that he was glad I stopped BFing my 14 month old (I didn't really, just lied to him) because it was hurting both me and my unborn baby. Then he went on and on about the fact that I'd have GD because of how large I was now (up 15lbs from pp) and before I got preg. (only 10lbs above the 'ideal' weight on the charts). He is also totally annoyed that I refused any testing beyond a standard blood test up till now. The stress from those 2 people added on to the whole MW refusal finding today have totally pushed me to the edge. I loved my HBMW so much last time, she was so supportive and encouraging, and now I'm dealing with this.

    So someone tell me that they had some great OB's that they've used in the past, or currently, so that I can stop feeling so bad about the whole thing. Or the opposite so that I can go max out my discover card to pay for the HBMW last minute and likely upset my DH because we can't afford it and insurance doesn't cover enough of it.
    ~Joy~ DS1-8/5/05, DS2-10/18/10 (VBAC#1), DS3- 4/11/12 (VBAC#2!)


  2. #2
    Posting Addict Spacers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    My avatar is the tai chi -- a symbol of the eternal cycle of life
    Posts
    16,484

    Default

    Would you mind PMing me your location in California? I might be able to help you find a VBAC-friendly provider. Also consider getting involved with your local ICAN, they will be a great source for local information.

    I would personally find a way to make a home birth work. Unless you have an HMO, your insurance should cover at least 60% or up to 90% under your out-of-network coverage. If your employer, or your DH's employer, offers a cafeteria plan or a flexible spending account, use it! Not only is the money you put in pre-tax dollars, which essentially saves you whatever your tax bracket is, it also spreads the expense over the entire year even if you pay the midwife in the first month or two.

    That said, I do love my OB. I didn't want her delivering either of my babies, but only because she doesn't do home births & I'm not fond of my HMO's hospital in general. She has great warmth, a sincere bedside manner, she respects an informed mom's decision-making, she supports natural birth & doulas, she's just great. If the home birth can't work for you, keep looking for a great OB. They do exist!
    David Letterman is retiring. Such great memories of watching him over the past thirty-two years!

  3. #3
    Posting Addict momW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Smalltown, Illinois
    Posts
    8,403

    Default

    I like my OB. I really do. He's a great VBAC friendly OB. Obviously you know my details from my VBA2C baby and even though it wasn't "perfect" it was enough for me to be going back to him. As much as I'd love a homebirth I don't think I can because the hospital I would have to transfer to in case of emergency has the worlds WORST OB's, no joke, the worst! (don't hold me to the no hb thing yet though). There are great OB's out there, there really are but you do have to look for them!

    I agree with Stacey, ICAN is a fantastic resource!! Even if you don't have one right there in town, they'll be helpful to talk you through any questions or issues and they're great to bounce ideas off of about dr's

  4. #4
    Community Host AnnaRO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,973

    Default

    Joy, that completely sucks that those MW's won't see VBAC ladies! I can't even believe that! I know how excited you were to find that place and then to have this happen. I would suggest that you at least give the new OB a chance. Interview with him at minimum. I adore my OB. With every appointment I like him more and more. He really listens to me when I have questions and explains everything completely. He is also completely on board with my VBAC plans. There really are great OB's out there and if you can't have a MW, you should definitely talk to some OB's. If you end up not liking any OB, then maybe you can revisit the HB idea again and see if there is any way that you guys can make it work out. Where there's a will there's a way. I am so sorry that you have to deal with such a very stressful situation! Let us know what happens.
    -Anna
    VBA2C blog





  5. #5
    Super Poster waitingimpatiently614's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    977

    Default

    i had an OB last time and am seeing MW this time...both deliver only in the hospital and are pretty "medicalized" (if that's a word), but i still see a BIG difference in the model of care, obstetrics vs. midwifery. it's just a different approach/philosophy. and the particular practice of midwives i see are very supportive and experienced in natural childbirth. most of them have given birth to their own children at home! so they are hesitant to rely on medical interventions and prefer to let labor and delivery play out in a normal, healthy way whenever possible. my OB last time was very quick to resort to any and every intervention, and i also felt like he didn't really listen to me or take me seriously, but i know not all OBs are like that.

    that's frustrating that the MW practice you talked to won't take VBACs. i really hope you can find an OB that is supportive and open to your plans/desires for this birth. you are the consumer, and you deserve to receive service from your provider that meets your needs and expectations. you shouldn't have to tell your OB whatever they want to hear to get them off your back about something or listen to lectures about things you don't agree with. seems like if that's the case, then that doctor is not a good fit for you, which i know you already know and that's why you've been desperately searching for an alternative! i really hope you find someone else you can trust and respect.
    ~Amanda

    DS Asher born 11/29/09
    DD Clara born 3/9/12


  6. #6
    Posting Addict Spacers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    My avatar is the tai chi -- a symbol of the eternal cycle of life
    Posts
    16,484

    Default

    The more I've been thinking about this, the more I'm wondering if maybe you mis-understood what the midwives' group said? In California, midwives *can* legally see VBAC clients, but there must be an OB consult. Perhaps they said, or meant to say, that you would need to see the OB *first* to make sure that you're a good VBAC candidate & discuss the risks, but then you can see the midwives after you've been approved by the OB? I hadn't noticed earlier, but I see your first VBAC baby & this one will be less than 18 months apart, so maybe they didn't see or remember that your C/S birth was years earlier & are treating you as if this is your first VBAC, in which case, less than 18 months is a higher risk. I'd suggest a call back tomorrow for clarification, and maybe even give the OB a chance. And finally, CA law governing midwives very strongly backs up an informed mom's right to make her own decisions about her own pregnancy, labor, birth, and choice of caregiver, so perhaps they have a legal paper you could sign that they reserve for such clients as yourself who know what they want, and who know they don't want to see an OB. If not, suggest it! Good luck to you!
    Last edited by Spacers; 01-18-2012 at 01:52 AM.
    David Letterman is retiring. Such great memories of watching him over the past thirty-two years!

  7. #7
    Mega Poster
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Californ-IA
    Posts
    2,853

    Default

    Oof, that sucks. I hope Spacers is right. Definitely give them a call back and clarify. It really doesn't make sense that their midwives could not attend VBACs at all, needing an OB consult seems to be more likely, but who knows, maybe the hospital has their own weird policy. However, if it's true their midwives can't deliver you, there's a good chance any OB working with them is much more supportive of NCB and VBAC than your current guy, since they are agreeing to work with/consult with/back up midwives. In fact, your current OB sounds like an idiot. Definitely find a new one, even if it doesn't work out to have a midwife. I'd say clarify with the MW group, and then talk to the OB they refer you to, and there is a good chance that this OB will be supportive, and at the very least, better than what you are dealing with now! Good luck and KUP!
    Maggie
    Married Brian 8/11/07
    DS Griffin 1/18/09, DS Ronan 7/3/12



    Lilypie First Birthday tickers


  8. #8
    Posting Addict TiggersMommy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    8,390

    Default

    Awwww! I was so excited to hear you'd found that MW group. I really hope Spacers is right. I have zero experience with OBs so I'm a bit biased towards MWs. There must be fabulous OBs out there. They have to exist. Even if you find one that's almost fabulous you can still make what you want out of your birth because it is YOUR birth. When it comes down to it, its your body your decision. If I were in your situation and couldn't find an OB I was comfortable with and affording a HB was even remotely in the cards, I'd try to go for a HB. A positive and healthy birth is worth going into debt, IMO.
    Erin
    DD Teagan 9/25/10
    Lilypie Fourth Birthday tickers
    Lilypie Pregnancy tickers
    SShhhhhhh, we're not FB official.

  9. #9
    Posting Addict jolly11sd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    California
    Posts
    8,581

    Default

    Thanks for all the input ladies. I'm starting to de-stress from it all and everyone's advice is helping me stay calm. I booked an appt. with one of the OBs in the MW group so that I can get some clarification on everything and find out if the hospital birth center will indeed be a good fit. I guess maybe the situation isn't a normal one for them so everyone has had different answers so far. I will get to the bottom of this though and either be happy with the situation or move on to another.

    Erin--I totally agree that a positive and healthy birth is totally worth going to to debt for. Still considering it but I've gotta get DH more on board. I already told him I'm going to find a tree in our costal redwoods and birth under it and that he can be my man-wife if he'd like. Your MIL still inspires me Totally the way to go!
    ~Joy~ DS1-8/5/05, DS2-10/18/10 (VBAC#1), DS3- 4/11/12 (VBAC#2!)


  10. #10
    Posting Addict Starryblue702's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV
    Posts
    6,217

    Default

    My jaw was on the floor through most of your post. I can't believe how totally sh*tty your OB is! If I were you I would be just as upset. Hopefully Spacers can help you find someone great in your area. That doctor must be a complete moron! Thinking that it's HURTING your body to be BF your baby... something that it was CREATED to do?!?!?! It doesn't matter if you're pregnant again! And the thing with the GD?!?! I'm considered "obese" and have never once had GD with four pregnancies, so it really can strike anyone, just like plenty of thin women can get it... what an idiot! I really hope you find someone great in your area so that you can have the vagnial, natural CB you're wanting! KUP!
    Krystal & Donovan - 12/2/06
    Reagan - 10/2/02
    Maximus - 3/10/05
    Liberty - 12/11/08
    Trystan- 11/22/11
    My angel in Heaven 1/7/13

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
v -->

About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Sitemap | Terms & Conditions