Baby removed from parents who wanted second opinion - Page 2
+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 15 of 15
Like Tree3Likes

Thread: Baby removed from parents who wanted second opinion

  1. #11
    Posting Addict
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    14,461

    Default

    Why was half the story posted lol! I'm off to book club so oh well have fun!

  2. #12
    Prolific Poster
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    2,192

    Default

    I feel like we're missing a piece to this story. Something doesn't seem quite right to me but I'll base my response on what was given.

    Sutter had to report them for leaving, with a minor without formal discharge. To not do so would have been negligent on their part.

    Cops responded and based on Kaiser's information they determined that the baby was fine.

    The second day events seem to be unwarranted based on the first days events and if what is in the story is accurate then they are completely in the wrong for taking that child and need to do some explaining.

    But again, it seems suspect to me. Why was she so ready with a camera? I don't think I would ever be in a sound enough mind to take out a camera and videotape CPS taking my child. I would be in hysterics. I find it a bit hard to believe that they were wrongly accused but were ready to do that.

    I also, in all my time with seeing doctors and working with doctors have never had a doctor get mad that a patient wants a 2nd opinion. I could see if it was a true emergent situation but this doesn't appear to be and he was in the hospital for a few days before surgery was suggested according to another article I pulled up. Not to say this couldn't happen, just that I haven't encountered it and on top of being a patient I've worked in various roles in the medical community for 13 years...just seems odd.
    blather likes this.
    Mom to Elizabeth (5) and Corinne (3)

  3. #13
    Mega Poster mom3girls's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    3,381

    Default

    The only thing I see the parents did wrong was not fill out the AMA papers. It was within their rights to seek another hospital.
    Lisa
    Molly, Morgan, Mia and Carson

  4. #14
    Posting Addict Spacers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    My avatar is the tai chi -- a symbol of the eternal cycle of life
    Posts
    16,392

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GloriaInTX View Post
    I didn't post the full article. It says the same thing if you read it all.
    I did click the link and I did read it in full. Nowhere in that entire article did it say that. If it does now, then it's been edited since 3pm my time.

    My sister, local to Sacramento, tells me tonight that the judge ordered the baby transferred to Stanford Medical Center for further testing & observation before making a ruling. It sounds to me like the judge is carefully considering both that Sutter Memorial might be exaggerating what the baby needs along with the possibility that the parents might not be doing all they should for the baby.

    Just checked and nope, the OP article doesn't say that all...

    Mrs. Nikolayev added that a doctor said the child should not have been given antibiotics, although they did want to perform heart surgery on Sammy immediately. At that point, Anna said, the couple decided to rush Sammy out of the hospital in search of a second opinion on his condition.

    “If [they made] one mistake after another, I don’t want to let my baby have surgery in the hospital where I don’t feel safe,” she said.

    The parents traveled directly from Sutter Memorial to Kaiser Medical Center in Sacramento, where doctors released Sammy to the care of his parents.

    “I do not have concern for the safety of the child at home with his parents,” a note from a doctor said. Anna and Alex were forced to show the note to police, who came to the second hospital, presumably after staff at Sutter Memorial called 911.
    Last edited by Spacers; 04-30-2013 at 12:42 AM.
    David Letterman is retiring. Such great memories of watching him over the past thirty-two years!

  5. #15
    Posting Addict GloriaInTX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    7,534

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Spacers View Post
    I did click the link and I did read it in full. Nowhere in that entire article did it say that. If it does now, then it's been edited since 3pm my time.

    My sister, local to Sacramento, tells me tonight that the judge ordered the baby transferred to Stanford Medical Center for further testing & observation before making a ruling. It sounds to me like the judge is carefully considering both that Sutter Memorial might be exaggerating what the baby needs along with the possibility that the parents might not be doing all they should for the baby.

    Just checked and nope, the OP article doesn't say that all...
    Say what... this? I'm not sure exactly what you are referring to.

    This is what I thought you were talking about it... quoted from the original article.
    But the lawyer also admits that the parents are partly responsible for the CPS course of action.

    “The mistake that they made was without signing out the child, they left the hospital and went to a different hospital and in my opinion what they did upset the initial physician and he decided to make a call to the Child Protective Services and say that there’s a child who is in imminent danger of death. What he did not know at that time was that they had gone to a second hospital and a different doctor said- no, it is not an issue.”
    Mom to Lee, Jake, Brandon, Rocco
    Stepmom to Ryan, Regan, Braden, Baley
    Granddaughters Kylie 10/18/2010 & Aleya 4/22/2013


    I never consider a difference of opinion in politics, in religion, in philosopy, as a cause for withdrawing from a friend. --Thomas Jefferson

+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
v -->

About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Sitemap | Terms & Conditions