Opinions at Family Gatherings
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Opinions at Family Gatherings

  1. #1
    Posting Addict
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    5,825

    Default Opinions at Family Gatherings

    http://www.theonion.com/articles/95-...to-family,490/
    "No one in my family really gets my worldview, so I find it easier just to smile and nod and agree with everything," Wilmot said Monday. "When I'm with them, I tend to be a lot quieter than when I'm hanging out with friends." Wilmot, who grew up in Kalamazoo and now lives in Chicago, described the visit as "seven hours of self-censorship."
    ...
    "Meredith said they're putting up a huge new Target Greatland right by their house," Wilmot said. "She says she's psyched because Target is way better than Wal-Mart. I just nodded and said, 'Yeah, totally.'"
    "Once you let go of the need to express your thoughts to your family, you suddenly feel much lighter," Wilmot said. "You just float along blissfully, finally liberated from the burden of having any presence at all. It's sort of like getting to return to the womb. Which is way more enjoyable than trying to explain to a tableful of Celine Dion fans why you can't stand her."
    Kind of fluff...This just got me thinking since we're having family gatherings for the holidays. Does everyone withhold their opinions all the time with family just for the sake of keeping peace? Do you speak up and give your opinion on what others are saying? If so, is it limited to just having a good debate or do you speak openly your mind on everything? Is this something that families overall have evolved to or do you think this is not the norm?
    Tracey

    DD: 7/27/08
    DD Twins: 8/4/09 @ 35 Wks - No NICU, woot!
    7/9/07

  2. #2
    Prolific Poster ftmom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    2,378

    Default

    I honestly cant think about a time I have ever held back my opinion in my family.....except maybe with my Grandmother

    I was raised to believe that you love your family no matter what, so that is really where I can be most honest. Even if we disagree, fight, whatever, we will always love each other and support each other.

    My mom had 3 sisters, and I cant recall a single family gathering where at least 2 of the 'girls' didn't end up crying together in the bathroom, making up from some 'fight'. My family has just always been that way.
    Kyla
    Mom to Arianna (5), Conner (3) and Trent (my baby)

  3. #3
    Posting Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    5,543

    Default

    I totally state my opinions when I'm with my family. There isn't anything wrong with discussing different views or having friendly debate.

    At my mil's it is a different story. No one communicates. Period. So, I keep most of my opinions/thoughts to myself. However, if someone asked my opinion point blank (and, you know, hell froze over and pigs learned to fly) I would honestly answer them.

  4. #4
    Posting Addict ClairesMommy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    12,517

    Default

    I don't say anything to FIL about my views. He said to me once, when I was pg with DD, "If you don't bring that child up in the church she will have a miserable life and go to h*ll, so prevent me from actually killing the man with my bare hands, I never, ever, ever provoke a conversation about anything meaningful with him. Smile.nod.breathe.repeat.

  5. #5
    Posting Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    23,442

    Default

    Luckily, that's not an issue for me. I can be completely open with my family as they can with me. We're all opinionated, and we're all expected to speak up when we have something to say!

    Also, in general, we share the same belief system. There are ranges on the spectrum, but we're all more or less in the same place.

    We also pry a lot -- no way would anybody be able to NOT speak up about something if they had an opinion on it!
    Laurie, mom to:
    Nathaniel ( 10 ) and Juliet ( 6 )




    Baking Adventures In A Messy Kitchen (blog)

  6. #6
    Community Host Alissa_Sal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Debating Away on the Debate Board!
    Posts
    11,771

    Default

    I have no problem sharing my opinion on fairly trivial things, but I almost never speak up about anything having to do with religion or politics. They know where I stand on most things in a general sort of way (i.e. they know that I can typically be counted on to play the godless liberal in any argument ) But our worldviews are just so different. My parents are very conservative Christians and I am very not. When I was younger, I was constantly debating this stuff with them, and I'm sure I was plenty obnoxious about it, and it led to a lot of hurt feelings and fights particularly between my father and I. Now that I'm a little older, it honestly just doesn't seem worth the fight to even get into it, so I just smile and nod and keep my thoughts to myself. It doesn't matter - I love them no matter how much I disagree with some of their views, and vice versa, and it is highly unlikely that I would ever be able to change their minds or them change mine, so it just seems like pointless drama to even bother with it.
    -Alissa, mom to Tristan (5) and Reid (the baby!)

    Got an opinion? We've got a board! Come join us for some lively debate on the Face Off! Debate Arena board.

  7. #7
    Posting Addict
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    5,825

    Default

    I find it depends on who I'm talking to as to how far I go when expressing my opinions. My family is very opinionated (big surprise even though we have pretty much the same core beliefs), but my BIL's are very different in personality. Of course we all love each other, get along most of the time, and always work it out when it turns into emotions and feelings, but there's sometimes where we just back up and let someone do their thing because the outcome would work better that way. With some, I have no issues at all with openly expressing my POV. But with others - depending on the topic, the person, and how much I personally want to invest in it - I have to either choose my words very carefully or not offer my opinion at all unless asked. One BIL we feel we need to tiptoe around and just listen to them without offering any opinions unless asked, but that leaves me feeling very uncomfortable at times since I feel I can't be completely myself around him.

    On DH's side, I feel very comfortable and we have a great time sharing spirited debates and opinions and I love that connected feeling. When I was with my ex, however, it was like walking on eggshells with his parents. Course it didn't help that his father placed a curse of death on me if I read a letter my ex purposely shared with me and his mother wrote letters to the judges that her boy would never do anything to hurt even a flea.
    Tracey

    DD: 7/27/08
    DD Twins: 8/4/09 @ 35 Wks - No NICU, woot!
    7/9/07

  8. #8
    Community Host
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    13,521

    Default

    Overall, I am a non-confrontational person. My brother is an Atheist and I am Christian. He is a Democrat, I am a Republican. We both know how each other stands on the issues so we don't typically bring it up. His girlfriend (the mother of his children) is rather sensitive so I don't usually bring up topics that I think would be offensive. I would rather not spend the holiday's fighting. Especially because I only see my family once or twice a year.
    Last edited by AlyssaEimers; 11-24-2011 at 12:51 AM.

    ~Bonita~

  9. #9
    Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Warsaw Indiana
    Posts
    112

    Default

    I neither state my opinion, nor do I hold it back. I have this wonderful learned skill, called restating. I also have a lovely way of avoiding. Like this year for thanksgiving I am avoiding MY family, like not seeing them, not speaking with them, they are awful to me and I won't have a thing to do with them until they can learn that my life isn't to please them. I am also avoiding my husbands oldest sister because I think shes a sleezy skank and I want nothing to do with her immoral bull crap. I might even be avoiding my husband since he thinks its ok to go out with "the guys" the night before thanksgiving and be out unreasonably late, stupid jerk.
    To listen actively is to hear what is being said without inflicting your own opinion, judgement, or desire.

  10. #10
    Posting Addict
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Sunny Florida
    Posts
    26,723

    Default

    I think it just depends. I will offer my opinion if I feel that it will be helpful to someone (not that it's always received as helpful, but I try, anyway); otherwise, I usually keep it to myself.

    Thankfully there isn't anyone on my side of the family, or on DH's side, who would get highly offended at someone's opinion if it differed from theirs. Not to say we don't ever have debates, we do, but nobody flies off the handle or gets their panties in a wad. Except maybe my DD (but that's another story).
    ~Mary

    DD 2/'07

+ Reply to Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
v -->

About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Sitemap | Terms & Conditions