**New examples** Eye brightening attempt +conversion opinion ?
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: **New examples** Eye brightening attempt +conversion opinion ?

  1. #1
    Mega Poster daniellec.parker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    3,282

    Default **New examples** Eye brightening attempt +conversion opinion ?

    So I had a quick go at trying to brighten Alaina's eyes in a snap I took of her today. How did I do on the overall edit, and also on her eyes.

    Which conversion is your favorite? Is there something I could do better with it?

    1. SOOC
    DSC_9041

    2. After some PP on the entire image
    DSC_9041-2

    3. After brightening her eyes (looks like I might have brightened the entire image again first...)
    DSC_9041-3

    4. 1st Conversion (DH's favorite)
    DSC_9041-3bw

    5. 2nd Conversion with more contrast
    DSC_9041-4bw
    Last edited by daniellec.parker; 01-09-2013 at 12:29 AM.
    -Danielle





    Lilypie First Birthday tickers

  2. #2
    EL2
    EL2 is offline
    Posting Addict EL2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    California
    Posts
    7,370

    Default

    I am on my phone and so take this response with a grain of salt. It is hard to brighten eyes if there isn't any light on them. Was she facing the light source? I would suggest trying again and get some lights in her eyes. From what I can see it is too dark. Great job for getting this out there. Did the tutorial help?
    -El mommy to B & A
    Just chug-chug-chugging along.

  3. #3
    Community Host Ladybugsteph's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    11,012

    Default

    I kind of agree with El here. I think maybe we need to see the attempt on one where she's looking at the camera and has some light in the eyes. I do notice a difference though, but it's slight.

    As far as the conversion goes, it just looks flat to me. Probably because there's not a lot of contrasting lights and darks.
    Stephanie - Mama to Carson, Jackson, and Hudson

    Facebook
    My Photography Blog
    My Year in Photos


  4. #4
    Posting Addict sadieruth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    16,549

    Default

    I agree, however, I can see a difference. I think you did a decent job without making it look overdone. My babies both have DARK brown eyes, so I understand the struggle!
    Sadie- mommy to Ruthie & Randy
    My blog

  5. #5
    Posting Addict Amy_&_Eva's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    6,482

    Default

    I can see the reflections you are brightening in her eyes, and it did work. But I agree she's turned away from the light and doesn't have enough in her eyes.

  6. #6
    Mega Poster daniellec.parker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    3,282

    Default

    These first two are older, but they are the first ones that came to mind when I tried to think of pictures I knew had pretty decent light directly into her eyes.

    A. Before:
    DSC_4741-2

    After:
    DSC_4741-3

    B. Before:
    DSC_4840-2_1

    After:
    DSC_4840-2_2

    C. Before:
    DSC_9010-3

    After:
    DSC_9010-4

    ETA: After looking at them posted instead of toggling between the before and after, I decided to take this last one even further.... I'm just so scared of lightening TOO much.
    C. Lightest
    DSC_9010-5
    Last edited by daniellec.parker; 01-09-2013 at 01:03 AM.
    -Danielle





    Lilypie First Birthday tickers

  7. #7
    EL2
    EL2 is offline
    Posting Addict EL2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    California
    Posts
    7,370

    Default

    These are much nicer. Remember to mask back her skin. The skin in some of these are looking really bright. I like the last example best. Remember its all about looking natural - if you are seeing the whites of the eyes being overly bright then you went beyond the natural look. I think on your last example the third one - still looks pretty natural to me. Great job!

  8. #8
    Mega Poster daniellec.parker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    3,282

    Default

    Thanks. I went back and tried that first one again, being a little more aggressive. Here's what I got:


    The original SOOC 1
    DSC_9041

    Newest edit: (better?)
    DSC_9041-4
    -Danielle





    Lilypie First Birthday tickers

+ Reply to Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
v -->

About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Sitemap | Terms & Conditions