Action Opinion
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By EL2

Thread: Action Opinion

  1. #1
    Mega Poster daniellec.parker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    3,282

    Default Action Opinion

    I stumbled across this "Eye Doctor" action and was excited about it because A&A have such dark eyes. I showed it to my DH and he says he thinks it makes the photo look fake. Opinions? Is it just because he's looking at it next to the original, or do y'all agree? I don't always agree with what he "sees", but my eyes aren't as trained as many of you at catching/noticing imperfections.

    Eye Doctor and Dentist Photoshop Actions | MCP Actions

    TIA
    -Danielle





    Lilypie First Birthday tickers

  2. #2
    EL2
    EL2 is offline
    Posting Addict EL2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    California
    Posts
    7,370

    Default

    I will have to agree with your husband about the eyes looking a bit too much. The whites if the eyes are waay too white in some of them. You can easily brighten the eyes by applying screen mode in PS moderately. I will come back to put a step by step tutorial.
    daniellec.parker likes this.
    -El mommy to B & A
    Just chug-chug-chugging along.

  3. #3
    Posting Addict shadow_grey's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    15,453

    Default

    Some are ok but some are far from natural looking

  4. #4
    Mega Poster daniellec.parker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    3,282

    Default

    Thanks. I agree that some were too white. But I was thinking it might just have been used excessively on those. I know with some you can adjust the opacity.

    El, that would be fantastic. Thanks so much!
    -Danielle





    Lilypie First Birthday tickers

  5. #5
    Community Host Ladybugsteph's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    11,010

    Default

    Yeah, I think it looks too fake to me too. Could you just try dodging their eyes a little to brighten them without going too far?
    Stephanie - Mama to Carson, Jackson, and Hudson

    Facebook
    My Photography Blog
    My Year in Photos


  6. #6
    Mega Poster daniellec.parker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    3,282

    Default

    I havent tried that Stephanie, but I will. I really don't know my way around all f the PS tools yet. I'm slowly learning.
    -Danielle





    Lilypie First Birthday tickers

  7. #7
    Posting Addict AmberBella's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    So Cal
    Posts
    6,748

    Default

    Yes, I have a free version of that action....well, the eye one. It's called Eye Pop. Pretty sure I got it from ILP way back when. But you could just as easily use dodge and burn to get the effect that action creates.

    The action is nice in that it just creates all they layers you need. First it creates an unsharp mask layer for you to sharpen the eyes and then it leads you through a curves layer that increases the brights...pretty much the same as dodging. I sometimes will also burn shadows to increase saturation gently and increase contrast.
    Wife to Rich~ 8/16/03 Mom to Nathan~ 9/30/07
     Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
     Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

    Photography Blog

+ Reply to Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
v -->

About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Sitemap | Terms & Conditions