best wide-angle portrait lens? opinions
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: best wide-angle portrait lens? opinions

  1. #1
    Posting Addict Amy_&_Eva's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    6,482

    Default best wide-angle portrait lens? opinions

    I am in need of a great portrait lens that is wider angle than 50mm, but still is capable of great bokeh/aperture. I remember raves here about 28-75mm f/2.8......which brand(s)? or does anyone here have the Canon 28mm 2.8? how about 17-50mm 2.8? Just want to know which one would give the most beautiful depth in tight spaces...for times such as newborn photography......

  2. #2
    EL2
    EL2 is offline
    Posting Addict EL2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    California
    Posts
    7,370

    Default

    I don't have the 28mm but I do have the 16-35 mm f2.8. And it is on my camera for the most part. Just because it gives me a great indoor range. Especially now that I have a FF I would recommend this lens.
    -El mommy to B & A
    Just chug-chug-chugging along.

  3. #3
    Community Host Ladybugsteph's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    11,012

    Default

    I'll be following along, because all I have is my 18-55 kit lens. If I wind up with a FF, it won't work on it, so I'll be looking into something new.
    Stephanie - Mama to Carson, Jackson, and Hudson

    Facebook
    My Photography Blog
    My Year in Photos


  4. #4
    Posting Addict Amy_&_Eva's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    6,482

    Default

    Thanks El, what brand is it? Does it work on crop sensors?

  5. #5
    Supporter rlcummings1223's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    321

    Default

    i do nikon but i found the 35mm to work well on newborns. not too much distortion in tight spaces


    Me/DH/DD3 DS1 DS1 DS2
    1 angel baby 12/8/11 4w4d

  6. #6
    EL2
    EL2 is offline
    Posting Addict EL2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    California
    Posts
    7,370

    Default

    It's a canon brand. I am iffy about getting a different brand than canon - I had the Tamron before and I wasn't happy with it.
    I have used this lens on crop sensor (7D) and it works well.

    This is shot at 16mm f2.8 - this is a pull back shot. I was about maybe 3 - 4 feet away from him.
    -El mommy to B & A
    Just chug-chug-chugging along.

  7. #7
    Posting Addict Amy_&_Eva's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    6,482

    Default

    Thanks!!!

+ Reply to Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
v -->

About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Sitemap | Terms & Conditions