Camera opinions
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Camera opinions

  1. #1
    Mega Poster raingirl28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    3,417

    Default Camera opinions

    I'm trying to narrow down a DSLR to buy around holiday time (aiming for Boxing day sales, December 26).

    I've done a lot of research and I really like Nikon (I've previously used old film SLR Nikons and really like them). However, the Canon Rebel T3 have really come down in price and I'm trying to not spend too much money with baby due in January. This will be my Christmas gift from DH. I've used my nieces Rebel T3 and I really liked it as well.

    The one benefit I was thinking for Nikon is that the lenses are compatible from older models and my step dad has a ton of old fun Nikon lenses. Yes, I know they would have no light meter and other features, but I'm ok with that. I just like that they are compatible.

    It would just be for hobby, nothing professional. I'm sick of point and shoot. My dad was a photographer while I was growing up so I have experience using high end film cameras and I get frustrated at the lack of features in a point and shoot. So now that my last point and shoot died, I want to upgrade to something that's a lot more fun and something I can take photography classes with.

    If it matters, I LOVE macro photography. And I also want to get into night photography and long exposures.

    The camera also has to have HD video (I can't recall right this second but I think that the Nikon D3100 in the same price range as the Canon T3 doesn't have video).

    Anyone have a preference that's used both Canon and Nikon? All my experience has been with film SLR, manual focus, etc, so would either of those be easier for transition?

    I'm looking to spend $500 max all in for camera and one lens, probably buying from this store unless I get a better deal somewhere else:

    http://www.henrys.com/Default.aspx
    Last edited by raingirl28; 11-15-2013 at 12:29 PM.
    Rachael & Rob 08/10/08
    Destiny isn't a matter of chance, it's a matter of choice.
    6 years, 3 REs, 2 surgeries, 5 IUIs, success on the 5th try!
    Baby Girl Rowan ~ Dec 10, 2013 ~


  2. #2
    Community Host
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    College Station, TX
    Posts
    4,842

    Default

    Canon and Nikon are both great options, so I don't really think you can go wrong with either choice.

    If you can, my best advice is to go to a store that has the cameras so you can hold them in your hands. For me, that was the deciding choice. I like the positioning of the adjustment dials on the Nikon better, they just fit my hand.

    I know many folks who have had the same experience, but with the opposite choice, when putting the cameras in their hands.

    For me, if I had access to a bunch of lenses in a particular brand (liek you do) would affect my choice.

    A great site where you can compare models, their features, and prices is Digital Photography Review

    Hope this helps you Rachael!

    And I hope you will pop on and share some pics with us regardless of what you decide upon.

    Best,
    GiGi

  3. #3
    Mega Poster raingirl28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    3,417

    Default

    Thanks GiGi!

    That link is excellent. Just the site an OCD researcher like me needs. I'm obsessive about doing my research before buying something big like this and I've wanted a DSLR for at least 5 years now! But since my point and shoot died a year ago and with baby coming, I can't really put it off anymore as I don't want to be using my old iPhone 3GS for photos of my first born!

    The benefit about the store I want to buy from is they are super informative and you can test out/try any of the cameras in store. They also have a good used selection with excellent warranties. I'm considering used as well as an option if I finally decide on the one I want and see one in their used list.

    I will definitely post photos once I get up and running!
    Rachael & Rob 08/10/08
    Destiny isn't a matter of chance, it's a matter of choice.
    6 years, 3 REs, 2 surgeries, 5 IUIs, success on the 5th try!
    Baby Girl Rowan ~ Dec 10, 2013 ~


  4. #4
    Mega Poster TracyF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Vancouver, BC, Canada
    Posts
    3,708

    Default

    GiGi's given some good advice, and DP Review is THE best site for complete camera info.

    One thing I'd say, though, is that I also LOVE macro photography, and in some ways I got better macros out of my point-and-shoot, because so far with a DSLR I have not had the money to invest in a macro lens, as they're considerably more expensive than the other lenses we have. So with a good point-and-shoot with macro mode, you may be better off. But it sounds like apart from macro, you just want a better camera, and know how to use it, so that's just a tidbit to warn you that macro lenses are expensive and if that's your passion, you may need to shell out quite a bit of money.

    Married Anthony April 2, 2005
    Nora born Feb. 14th, 2007
    Micah born Jan. 20, 2009

  5. #5
    Posting Addict sadieruth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    16,629

    Default

    I am with Tracy & GiGi. Sorry it's taken me so long to reply! I went in thinking I would get a Canon, but went with a Nikon b/c of the way it felt. I would do what is best for you. Keep us posted!
    Sadie- mommy to Ruthie & Randy
    My blog

  6. #6
    Mega Poster raingirl28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    3,417

    Default

    I'm going to go start testing out some this weekend if I have time. Take advantage of the sales staff before it gets Christmas busy and ask lots of questions, test them out, get a feel in my hands. Hopefully I can make a decision so that when the sales start and I get my bonus I can go right out and buy one!
    Rachael & Rob 08/10/08
    Destiny isn't a matter of chance, it's a matter of choice.
    6 years, 3 REs, 2 surgeries, 5 IUIs, success on the 5th try!
    Baby Girl Rowan ~ Dec 10, 2013 ~


  7. #7
    Community Host
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    College Station, TX
    Posts
    4,842

    Default

    Have fun with it, Rachael!

    And don't forget to come back and tell us what you decide upon.

    GiGi

  8. #8
    Posting Addict Muddee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    9,682

    Default

    My reason for going with Canon when I got my DSLR is they have FANTASTIC customer support. Before getting the DSLR my P&S broke I called Canon thinking I was out of warranty and wanting a quote on repairing it, they advised me that I was still under warranty and said to just ship it to them and they would repair and ship it back, they gave me an estimate of 2 - 4 weeks which I thought was pretty good. Shipped it out and less than 3 days later my camera was home.


    * Amanda *

  9. #9
    Mega Poster TracyF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Vancouver, BC, Canada
    Posts
    3,708

    Default

    Amanda, that's the same for us: Canon's customer support was amazing with our P&S, so we went with them for our DSLR too. We had a problem with our sensor in our P&S. It was a known problem, but our P&S was long off warranty, and not only did Canon deal with it, they replaced and UPGRADED our P&S free of charge. For me, that's a company worth dealing with!

    Married Anthony April 2, 2005
    Nora born Feb. 14th, 2007
    Micah born Jan. 20, 2009

+ Reply to Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
v -->

About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Sitemap | Terms & Conditions