Opinions please help me decide (cc needed/very pic heavy)
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Opinions please help me decide (cc needed/very pic heavy)

  1. #1
    Posting Addict Coconut2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Lake City, FL
    Posts
    6,439

    Default Opinions please help me decide (cc needed/very pic heavy)

    My Mommy is a butterfly fanatic; she has a whole room dedicated to anything and everything butterflies. I recently went to a local butterfly garden and took some pictures of varies species. I wanted to print some out, get either a nice collage frame or several frames to put them in, and give it to her for this coming Mother’s Day. Which do you think are slightly frame worthy? What would you recommend for editing to make them look better? I really want to give her an awesome thoughtful present; she is an amazing woman who goes above and beyond for us. I know she will love this and doesn’t really care if they are perfect or not but I want them to be not only for her but for me since this is like showcasing my work. Thanks for any and all help you can give, I greatly appreciate it. These are all SOOC except for the watermark placed on them.

    1. f/11 1/15sec ISO-400 55mm
    009
    2. f/11 1/13sec ISO-400 55mm
    013
    3. f/11 1/50sec ISO-400 55mm
    014
    4. f/11 1/50sec ISO-400 55mm
    015
    5. f/11 1/60sec ISO-400 55mm
    018
    6. f/11 1/80sec ISO-400 55mm
    023
    7. f/11 1/80sec ISO-400 55mm
    024
    8. f/11 1/80sec ISO-400 55mm
    025
    9. f/11 1/160sec ISO-250 55mm
    035
    10. f/11 1/200sec ISO-400 55mm
    038
    11. f/11 1/125 ISO-400 55mm
    047
    12. f/11 1/15sec ISO-400 44mm
    054
    13. f/11 1/20 ISO-400 55mm
    058
    14. f/11 1/13sec ISO-400 55mm
    061
    15. f/11 1/13sec ISO-400 55mm
    062
    16. f/11 1/125sec ISO-400 55mm
    071
    Stephanie & Shane Proud Parent's To
    Victoria (7-28-05), Vincent (6-5-07), Vance (6-5-09), Viking (5-13-10), & Valiant Batman (6-5-11)
    3 monkeys

  2. #2
    Posting Addict marymoonu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    OH-IO
    Posts
    13,652

    Default

    wow, that looks like a fun place... love all the different types of butterflies. I particularly like #'s 3 and 6 (those are my favorites out of each of their respective sets of 3... to me they look the best focused, and I like the placement of the pink flowers best in #6). I also particularly like #11...Love the background in that one. You'll have to update us on what you decide... I'm sure she'll love the addition to her butterfly room!

    Sean Thomas - 6/30/09 @ 7:17pm 8lb 8oz, 19", 40w5d
    Calvin Michael - 2/28/11 @ 7:39pm 6lb 8oz, 18", 37w5d
    Nolan Matthew - 5/1/13 @ 11:54pm 6lb 4oz, 19", 38w4d

    May 26, 2010 - 7w1d

  3. #3
    Posting Addict Jeffininer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    6,771

    Default

    My favorites are definitely # 3 and 6. I might try rotating #3 to portrait orientation. The angle seems a bit awkward.

    You did a great job, and I think your mom will love these!
    ~ Jennifer ~ Check Out My Blog

    Rylee Elizabeth & Tyler Ray


    Lilypie First Birthday tickers

  4. #4
    Posting Addict CJWilkes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    The GREAT NorthWest!
    Posts
    39,564

    Default

    Love 3 and 7!


    Product of Nathan & Cindy

  5. #5
    Posting Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    5,217

    Default

    I like #7 the best!
    Me 33
    DH 32
    Angel babies 9/06 & 3/07
    DS born June 11, 2008
    DD born February 11, 2011
    Miss Blue Eyes

  6. #6
    Community Host Ladybugsteph's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    11,018

    Default

    I like 3 and 7 the best. It's nice that they're in their "natural" environment in them.
    Stephanie - Mama to Carson, Jackson, and Hudson

    Facebook
    My Photography Blog
    My Year in Photos


  7. #7
    Mega Poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    northern Virginia
    Posts
    2,562

    Default

    I like #3 and #4 best--I'm sure your mom will be thrilled! You might try cropping the right side slightly so that the butterfly isn't so centered.

    Also, is it a typo, or did you shoot #14 and #15 at 1/13 sec? With a fast-moving subject like butterflies, I would recommend keeping your shutter speed higher (1/125 or faster). To compensate for the light, you could open your aperature--that would give you some nice bokeh behind the images, too.
    Me: Janet
    DH: Jaime
    DS: Tyler 4/19/06


+ Reply to Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
v -->

About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Sitemap | Terms & Conditions