Portfolio review + barter idea - please check post #11
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: Portfolio review + barter idea - please check post #11

  1. #1
    Posting Addict coolmama72's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    27,760

    Default Portfolio review + barter idea - please check post #11

    I'm not ready to go into business (mainly because of where I'm at in my life, with the youngest kids) ... but at the same time, there are things that I want that aren't in our budget. For example, I really need three rooms (maybe four) repainted, and I SUCK at painting. I'd love to have a workbench built in our home office for my kids to put their computers and do their homework at. We don't have the time for that. There are other things too, like I'd love for a true organization guru to come help me get things in order. Anyhow, why not barter my photography for things like that? It doesn't hurt to try, so that's what I'm going to do.

    So I put together a potential portfolio to show those people that I'm interested in bartering with. I'd exchange the actual session plus a few prints (I'll put together some kind of package, nothing crazy, as I'm trying to save money by doing it this way) and also offer any additional prints to them at cost only. What I'd love from you guys is for you to look at my portfolio, and tell me what you think. Would you pull any photos? If so, which? (they are numbered). A good friend suggested two of them to pull already, but I'm leaving them in for now (since they were already numbered, and I wanted other people to look first). And do you think I have a shot at bartering with professionals (like a professional painter) or do you think that I'll be better off marketing to other people like me, someone not in business but is good at what they do. (I do have friends who are good at painting so it's an option).

    Here's the link to the portfolio slideshow: http://www.flickr.com/photos/coolmam...52300535/show/
    Last edited by coolmama72; 05-05-2010 at 10:06 AM.
    Gwen, Mommy to Andrew, Jordan, Natalie & Jack




    My blog - all things family, photography and crafty

  2. #2
    Mega Poster tialee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3,434

    Default

    Just my personal opinion. If you were to take any out I would say #8 (girls elbow in mom's boobs) and #16 I LOVE the backround in #16 but subject seems off to me. I would like to see her barefoot. The other thing I noticed is the tiny sliver of light in #1 to the left of the pic. I LOVE #'s 24, 26, 27, 28, and 29 just wondering why these were at the end when they are so good!

    I think the barter sounds like a great idea but what about a cd with the images?
    Photobucket

  3. #3
    Posting Addict coolmama72's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    27,760

    Default

    thanks Tia! I think the sliver of light is just a remnant in the slideshow, it's not in the actual photo.

    As far as the order, I actually ordered by age of main subject and then put the collages last. I should have put Jack's cake smash at the end too, but didn't think of that.
    Gwen, Mommy to Andrew, Jordan, Natalie & Jack




    My blog - all things family, photography and crafty

  4. #4
    Posting Addict Amy_&_Eva's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    6,510

    Default

    I just wanted to say I really enjoyed your portfolio slideshow! You've got some great stuff in there I hadn't seen before! Good luck with your bartering!

    Edit: Have you thought about making your watermark more recognizable to you like having more of your name in it? Just a thought that has been in my mind.
    Last edited by Amy_&_Eva; 05-03-2010 at 09:36 AM.

  5. #5
    Posting Addict sweetalienchick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    14,255

    Default

    you've got some really great stuff in there! the thing about #16 is there is not eye contact. that's probably why it seems off. Also #22 his head still looks a bit weird. I'm not sure others will be able to see it though but I know a few of us have? those are the only ones though. these are great! and I think your idea is a good one. good luck with that!
    Mikael 2, Jeanette 4,







  6. #6
    Posting Addict fudd8963's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    7,564

    Default

    I am only able to view your slideshow quickly since I am at work, and well should be working!!! But I think they are great. I also think bartering is a great idea. I would think you would have better luck with it if you targeted people like you, who are great at what they do but don't have the bills and overhead from a business and need the cash to pay those. That's not to say that it couldn't work with a professional, it just may be harder. Good luck, and let us know what you decide to do.

    I also liked Tia's idea of putting the images on a CD and then they can print the ones that they want.
    ~ Tara

    April 19, 09: 37 week Take Home Twins!!!!
    Addison Bree - 5lb 6oz
    Brooke Isabella - 5lb 12oz



    4,043oz of BM donated!


  7. #7
    Community Host
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    College Station, TX
    Posts
    4,842

    Default

    really nice set, Gwen! you are really coming into your own style - bright and crisp - and these images show it off nicely! On #3 the baby's eyes look soft to me. And I can't put my finger on it, but the color looks off a bit in #14 (but I'm at work, so take that w/ a grain of salt).

    As for whom to barter with ... I'd say it depends on what you want done and how comfortable you are with the person you're approaching. I don't think it matters much if the person is a professional if you know them well enough to be sure that what you're offering is something they would likely be willing to take advantage of .... I don't think I'm explaining myself very well. I think my basic point is, go where the need is ... don't limit yourself to non-professionals if you know the person would be in the market for what you're offering. OK?



    Best,
    GiGi

  8. #8
    Posting Addict sadieruth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    16,631

    Default

    I TOTALLY think it's a great idea! I think your work is great, and I love all these shots! KUP okay?
    Sadie- mommy to Ruthie & Randy
    My blog

  9. #9
    jendodd
    Guest

    Default

    Make sure if you barter that you have a pre written contract that states EXACTLY what you're exchanging! I know people who have gotten in situations because they hadn't worked out exactly how much each one of their own side of the bargin is worth. (Like for example - if it covers the paint, how much exactly the person's time worth, etc).

    I'd take out #17 (because there isn't any light in her eyes) - looks great though!!!!

  10. #10
    Andie7a
    Guest

    Default

    Looks good Gwen.

    #8 needs to be warmed up a bit (did you remove a colour cast here? the little girl looks a bit gray)

    #14 has too much yellow

    #17 not your best, maybe take it out

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
v -->

About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Sitemap | Terms & Conditions