Quick Opinion EDITS ADDED
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
Like Tree4Likes

Thread: Quick Opinion EDITS ADDED

  1. #1
    Community Host Ladybugsteph's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    11,012

    Default Quick Opinion EDITS ADDED

    I had a session yesterday, and the mom wants one of the images right away for her daughter's 1st birthday invitation. I'm going to send her these two, but wanted opinions on my edits. I am kind of struggling with these, because it was shot at a less than ideal time of day, and the light was kinda harsh. But it is what it is, and I need to work with what I have.

    So let me know if anything is seriously sticking out to you. I will be sending these to her later today after I (hopefully) get a couple of opinions on them. I can always re-edit them, since I will still be sending them along with the other images from the session, so keep 'em coming even after I send them

    #1

    866A1859-2web by Stephanie.Miller, on Flickr

    #2

    866A1866-2web by Stephanie.Miller, on Flickr

    Mom's vision was of her daughter in the woods holding balloons and looking up at them in the air. It was a really windy day, and we struggled with the balloons a bit, but I'm pretty sure I got exactly what she was looking for.
    Last edited by Ladybugsteph; 04-15-2013 at 06:24 PM.
    Stephanie - Mama to Carson, Jackson, and Hudson

    Facebook
    My Photography Blog
    My Year in Photos


  2. #2
    Supporter tialee80's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    394

    Default

    OMG I am in love with that dress! I think your comp is beautiful but the picture looks very bright to me. (might just be my monitor)
    I know you said there was harsh light so maybe a vintage edit would work cause I feel like baby needs to pop a lil more?

  3. #3
    Community Host Ladybugsteph's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    11,012

    Default

    Mom made the dress She's very crafty! I wish the lighting would have been better for these, because she even made the colors go from dark (at the top) to light (at the bottom). It really was gorgeous!

    Second one is definitely brighter. There's some haze there that isn't in the first one. How does everyone else feel about the brightness?

    Oh, and I'm a little leery of a vintage edit, because it's not my style at all. These are being edited to be put in my portfolio, so I want to keep them close to who I am as I can.
    Stephanie - Mama to Carson, Jackson, and Hudson

    Facebook
    My Photography Blog
    My Year in Photos


  4. #4
    Supporter tialee80's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    394

    Default

    Gotcha! Tell mom she is very talented and if she makes anymore I would love to buy one from her. I often pick up cute pieces for my customers and when they are trying to pick an outfit I show them and they love it back to you...
    I think the brightness works on the backround cause it gives the pic a dreamy feel which is beautiful but it would be perfect if the baby just stood out a lil more however my computer is not the best at color so I think other opinions will help

  5. #5
    Mega Poster TracyF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Vancouver, BC, Canada
    Posts
    3,606

    Default

    They're beautiful, Steph. I do agree it feels a bit like the baby needs to pop more, which is weird given the bright purple against the woods... but her face looks quite dark somehow. A bit of dodging might help? Not sure, I'm about to post some photos from a shoot I did yesterday with some similar lighting, and I am sucking at the editing.

    Married Anthony April 2, 2005
    Nora born Feb. 14th, 2007
    Micah born Jan. 20, 2009

  6. #6
    Posting Addict AmberBella's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    So Cal
    Posts
    6,748

    Default

    The 1st one is fine. I don't love the background, but the little girl is adorable.

    The 2nd one looks pretty washed out to me. It's really bright and lacks depth. I'd pull those darks way up. It's also a touch too red...unless you like it like that. I personally prefer greener greens.

    I'm not sure I'd include either of these in your portfolio. You have much better work.
    Wife to Rich~ 8/16/03 Mom to Nathan~ 9/30/07
     Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
     Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

    Photography Blog

  7. #7
    Community Host Ladybugsteph's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    11,012

    Default

    Thanks guys! I have another where she is standing holding mom and dad's hands. I'm not sure if that's what she is looking for for the invite though. I think the lighting is slightly better in it, though, I need to look at it again to be sure.

    I really appreciate the feedback. I can always count on you all!
    Stephanie - Mama to Carson, Jackson, and Hudson

    Facebook
    My Photography Blog
    My Year in Photos


  8. #8
    EL2
    EL2 is offline
    Posting Addict EL2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    California
    Posts
    7,370

    Default

    I agree with Amber. I am not liking the lighting/dappled light on her. I would darken the background to make her pop up more.
    -El mommy to B & A
    Just chug-chug-chugging along.

  9. #9
    Community Host
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    College Station, TX
    Posts
    4,734

    Default

    I agree w/ Amber and El. Once you bring up the blacks/darken the background, I think these will both be really nice. My favorite is #1. I just love the eye contact there.

    GiGi

  10. #10
    Community Host Ladybugsteph's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    11,012

    Default

    Okay, new edits based on the CC! I hope I'm on the right track. I really want to get these to her today, but I want them to look good!


    866A1859-3web by Stephanie.Miller, on Flickr


    866A1866-3web by Stephanie.Miller, on Flickr
    Stephanie - Mama to Carson, Jackson, and Hudson

    Facebook
    My Photography Blog
    My Year in Photos


+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
v -->

About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Sitemap | Terms & Conditions