Ultimate Flashback: Your year in review
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Ultimate Flashback: Your year in review

  1. #1
    Community Host
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    College Station, TX
    Posts
    4,795

    Red face Ultimate Flashback: Your year in review

    As we start to close out the year, it's a tradition on this board to look back over our favorites from the year.

    I invite you all to dig through your archives and pull out your top pics to share with us. You can post them here on this thread or start a whole new one. It's up to you!

    Thanks for playing! I am looking forward to seeing some of my personal favorites from what I have seen you all share over the course of this year.

    Best,
    GiGi

  2. #2
    Community Host Ladybugsteph's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    11,018

    Default

    I have everyone back in their normal places this week with no vacation, or lay offs, or visitors, so I'm going to see what I can do! I hope I can get it at least halfway done!
    Stephanie - Mama to Carson, Jackson, and Hudson

    Facebook
    My Photography Blog
    My Year in Photos


  3. #3
    Mega Poster TracyF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Vancouver, BC, Canada
    Posts
    3,664

    Default

    I've never done a year in review thread before, always seem unable to take the time to gather pics. But I'm going to try this time. It may take me a few days to complete this post, but here goes!

    January started with some of my favourite Micah pics ever. He was being a complete goof and having so much fun, and somehow I managed to capture it pretty well!


    Then we entered birthday season, first Micah on Jan. 20th:


    Captured this for a 'hearts' challenge and have loved it ever since, for the way it represents the "Book of Love":


    Then Nora's birthday came on Feb. 14th:


    The next week I captured this of her, which is quintessentially Nora:


    March brought some spring flowers, and I took this one which ended up as a canvas on my wall at home and on a friend's wall too:


    Micah and I spent some play time on the Fraser River one day:


    Then there was Easter!


    Easter included a neat egg hunt with church friends:


    In April my brother came to visit:


    And in May I did my second-ever photo shoot, for a friend and her girls:


    In May we took a family hike to the top of a local mountain:


    and had a glorious hot spell which resulted in some sprinkler time:




    And I enjoyed the beginnings of spring:


    On Mother's Day I got my new 50mm f/1.4 lens and we went for a 'walk for Mom' in the rain:




    One day we went to the lake in the rain and had a great time, and I took one of the images that ended up being one of my most successful 'card' images to date, too (the climbing one):




    I just love this one of Micah in the spring flowers:


    Then I did another shoot where I learned some hard lessons about skin tones, which have helped me immensely through the rest of the year:




    Went to the bird sanctuary:


    In June I did another photo shoot for friends, with better results. This shot is hanging on a canvas in their living room now:


    and I loved this one:


    Before we knew it, Kindergarten was over -- this is her last day looking at her scrapbook:


    Seriously crazy kid here:


    Really loved this one:


    To end June, I took prom pics for a friend:




    July, school's out, time for family, friends, and fun -- and flowers:








    We went to Whistler overnight with my brother's family and my parents:






    Whistler 2013

    And visited Fort Langley:




    Spent time with my brother's family before they went back to Hong Kong:




    An all-time favourite (am I perverse in liking some of these sad faces so much??!!):


    and this one too:


    In August we enjoyed some time at the local fair:


    and Micah started soccer:


    Took in the local air show:


    Went to Britannia Beach on a Sunday afternoon:




    September started with a date to the national exhibition (fair) just with DH, on a very busy day:


    and we went to Mt. Baker on the Labour Day weekend:




    Nora's first day of school:


    And Micah and I went to the lake:
    Cultus Lake

    and found our awesome abandoned gas station on the way back:


    Nora and Micah enjoyed a last September heat wave at the beach one day after school:


    and Nora learned how to play checkers and do the monkey bars:




    In October, before the beautiful Minter Gardens closed its doors forever, I found some magic there:




    Got a couple of macros I loved:




    Did my first 'stranger shoot'!






    And a fall shoot with my own kids:




    Micah and I got to spend time in Nora's classroom:




    Took a shot of Micah's blue eyes!


    Then came Halloween:






    In November I got kind of a neat shot of the valley in the fall:


    And did a photo shoot for friends. The family pic is going on a canvas for Christmas:




    Got the kids doing crafts:


    And DH with his Mowember moustache:


    In December I transformed this photo to a 'painting':


    We celebrated my dad's birthday and retirement:
    Retirement & Birthday Celebrations

    Enjoyed the first snowfall:


    And now we're TRYING to get ready for Christmas, when health permits.




    Whew! That's a lot of photos! Sorry so many!!!

    Married Anthony April 2, 2005
    Nora born Feb. 14th, 2007
    Micah born Jan. 20, 2009

  4. #4
    Community Host Ladybugsteph's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    11,018

    Default

    Tracy, you had a fabulous year!!! What really sticks out to me are the landscapes. Utterly amazing! And that family shot in front of the mountain? Wow!! I remember so many of these, and I'm so proud of how far you have come!
    Stephanie - Mama to Carson, Jackson, and Hudson

    Facebook
    My Photography Blog
    My Year in Photos


  5. #5
    Mega Poster TracyF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Vancouver, BC, Canada
    Posts
    3,664

    Default

    Thanks so much, Steph, that means a lot!

    Married Anthony April 2, 2005
    Nora born Feb. 14th, 2007
    Micah born Jan. 20, 2009

  6. #6
    Posting Addict sadieruth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    16,593

    Default

    Tracy- you are such an inspiring photographer. I love looking at your captures of your kids and your nature photography as well. You have grown a lot this year, especially with portrait photography. Your landscapes always amaze me.
    Sadie- mommy to Ruthie & Randy
    My blog

+ Reply to Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
v -->

About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Sitemap | Terms & Conditions