Not sure if it's twins... Looking for opinions on the BFP :)
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Not sure if it's twins... Looking for opinions on the BFP :)

  1. #1
    Posting Addict picknic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    7,370

    Default Not sure if it's twins... Looking for opinions on the BFP :)

    Hi girls! I used to moderate the Oct 2008 board before we converted to downsize. I just got a new BFP a couple weeks ago and I have had a LOT of people suggest that it could be twins because of how dark the line is. I thought I might ask some "experts" who have seen a BFP for twins before. This was two days before my period was supposed to start. I'll find out in about two weeks either way.

    ETA: I have no history of twins in my family, nor does DH.

    Photobucket
    -- Nicole --

     Pregnancy Ticker

     Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

  2. #2
    Prolific Poster WhiteWolf68's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    1,362

    Default

    Hmmm, I'm not sure. Do you know someone in the UK who can ship you one of their ClearBlue Digital ones? They read HCG in a different way, when I used one it said "2-3 weeks pregnant" and that was at 13dpo. So I knew my level was super high by checking charts. Can you get a Beta done? A high number could be a good indication but not "set in stone" that is till an early ultrasound.

    GL! and Congrats!!!
    Jennifer
    Kyle 11/10/05, Connor 09/10/07
    Faelynn & Finnley 09/24/12

  3. #3
    Prolific Poster
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,287

    Default

    Sorry no help because I was already 5 weeks when I first tested but it does look pretty bright to me.
    Krista and Shane 01-07-11
    Sydney 07-28-07
    Bradley and Kaylee 09-06-11

    Lilypie Second Birthday tickers

    Lilypie Kids Birthday tickers

  4. #4
    Posting Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    12,822

    Default

    The only way to know if you are pregnant with twins is via an ultrasound. I had no indicators to suggest I was pregnant with twins. My beta levels were not super high, my one and only digital test read "pregnant", and I had no other symptoms, except dizziness at about 3 weeks and morning sickness that started at 5 weeks, which is considered a normal pregnancy symptom. My beta levels also did not double every 48 hours and I had very healthy twin girls at 37 weeks, 2 days. Best of luck to you.
    Melanie
    DS-Isaiah 1/2/04
    DDs- Keira and Sarafina 11/28/09


  5. #5
    Prolific Poster
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    1,721

    Default

    My test came up "pregnant" really fast and that was I think the day before my period was really due. However, I had my first ultrasound at 5.5 weeks pregnant and they only found one baby. I didn't know it was twins until my next ultrasound at 12 weeks. It's unlikely you're having twins and but you probably won't know in a couple of weeks.

    Lilypie First Birthday tickers

  6. #6
    Super Poster Gabsma03's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    780

    Default

    I always thought it was the brighter the later you tested... like one day past missed period vs One Week. My Bfp was no different than my others and boy was I shocked when I went for a ultrasound at 9 weeks to have to hearbeats!!!!
    Sarah
    mom to 4
    Lilypie First Birthday tickers

  7. #7
    Contributor
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    2

    Default

    This is what happend to me. With both of my singles I took the test a couple days before period was to start and the lines appeared very faintly and slowly. Took the test this time a couple days before AF and was instantly super dark. I was with my friend when I took the test and she was like whoa you must be farther along than you thought! Turns out I wasn't very far along...it was twins!

  8. #8
    Super Poster Flourish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Surrey
    Posts
    639

    Default

    I really wouldn't rely on the colour of the line on a pregnancy test to tell you if you have twins or not. It's a little far fetched. I'm with Mel, if you really want to know, go to an ultrasound! HH9M to you
    -Kim-

    Lilypie Third Birthday tickers

    Robb's blog about being a twin dad --> Twins of the Father

    Need something for your home? Seasonings? Cleaning supplies? Baby wash? All natural - That's Watkins! Use code 397208 upon ordering.

  9. #9
    Posting Addict picknic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    7,370

    Default

    Thanks for the responses! I finally had my u/s today and it's just one LO in there. But he/she is happy and healthy and everything looks good. I'm pretty thrilled. Thanks for your input!
    -- Nicole --

     Pregnancy Ticker

     Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

  10. #10
    Posting Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    12,822

    Default

    Congrats Nicole! HH9M to you!
    Melanie
    DS-Isaiah 1/2/04
    DDs- Keira and Sarafina 11/28/09


+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
v -->

About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Sitemap | Terms & Conditions