Opinions needed (OT)
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Opinions needed (OT)

  1. #1
    Mega Poster raingirl28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    3,417

    Default Opinions needed (OT)

    We got a call today from a credit agency trying to pin a bill on my DH (he has a rather uncommon name). The address was NOT somewhere we ever lived nor have we had an account with the company that says we owe them money.

    HOWEVER, we do know who it is and it's someone closely related to DH.

    Should we rat them out to cover our butts? We could right out say who it is and where they live now and their contact info. Right now we are doing what we can to prove we never lived there as a start, but I know credit agencies might not take that for an answer/proof. I know being proactive now would be easier then trying to get this thing off his report if it gets on there by accident. We want to buy a house soon and this could ruin it all.

    Thoughts?
    Rachael & Rob 08/10/08
    Destiny isn't a matter of chance, it's a matter of choice.
    6 years, 3 REs, 2 surgeries, 5 IUIs, success on the 5th try!
    Baby Girl Rowan ~ Dec 10, 2013 ~


  2. #2
    Super Poster
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    691

    Default

    **Lurker**
    Yes for sure rat them out - it is their debt after all and if it sticks on your DH's credit report it will be a royal pain to remove it and could very well mess up your buying a house for a long time to come. My DH is in that line of business and he sees credit report mistakes and their impacts fairly often. Good Luck!
    -------------------
    Elle
    DS December 2011


    Lilypie Maternity tickers

    Lilypie First Birthday tickers

  3. #3
    Super Poster DannyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    884

    Default

    You have to rat them out. It is their obligation to settle the debt!
    Danielle
    TTC since 2009
    11/16/11 9wks
    8/30/12 Lucas Anthony & Olivia Ann arrived at 37 weeks

  4. #4
    Community Host combatcutie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    8,894

    Default

    I agree with the other ladies. It is their debt and it shouldn't be on your husband's report. I doubt highly that they will ever find out it was you guys. You have to protect yourselves here. You don't want to be dragged into court if they decide to sue you.

  5. #5
    Mega Poster
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    4,918

    Default

    most definitely, and since we just bought a house it's amazing how the littlest things will surface and lower your credit.
    *Marisol*

    DD Emily 2/10/05
    DS Sebastian 4/18/14


    *IVF #1: Failed early MC*
    *IVF #2: Baby Cecilia born at 22 weeks.
    *IVF #3: Positive!


    Lilypie First Birthday tickers



  6. #6
    Prolific Poster
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Yonkers, NY
    Posts
    1,686

    Default

    I would deffffinnaatteellyyy tell!! Why should you and dh suffer
    Tasha

    TTC #1 since 2/11
    Married to DH Chris since May 23,2011
    April 16 2012- IUI BFP!!!
    Dec 8th 2012 Carter Michael is born 4:53 am at 5lbs 5 oz
    Lilypie Premature Baby tickers

  7. #7
    Mega Poster raingirl28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    3,417

    Default

    (it's my FIL....)

    *sigh* I don't know their address or phone number myself so unless DH consents....I have no say. He's come around I think though. No one needs to know it was us right?
    Rachael & Rob 08/10/08
    Destiny isn't a matter of chance, it's a matter of choice.
    6 years, 3 REs, 2 surgeries, 5 IUIs, success on the 5th try!
    Baby Girl Rowan ~ Dec 10, 2013 ~


  8. #8
    Posting Addict
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Sunny Florida
    Posts
    26,723

    Default

    Did your FIL move? I'm wondering if this is the credit agency's way of trying to get the new info. It's up to you whether you volunteer the information or not, but unless they can prove it's your DH's bill, they can't damage his credit (unless I'm missing something). It's pretty common for credit agencies to contact family members in an attempt to get the debt paid. Sometimes they will do just about anything to get it paid.

    DH told me recently that some credit agencies these days will pay off the company that's owed money at a reduced amount, then collect the full amount from the person who owes the money, thus making a nice profit. If that's true, the credit agencies would tend to be more aggressive in getting that money collected.
    ~Mary

    DD 2/'07

  9. #9
    Mega Poster raingirl28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    3,417

    Default

    Yeah, they moved back to the east coast of Canada 2 years ago. I know where they live but not the actual address.
    Rachael & Rob 08/10/08
    Destiny isn't a matter of chance, it's a matter of choice.
    6 years, 3 REs, 2 surgeries, 5 IUIs, success on the 5th try!
    Baby Girl Rowan ~ Dec 10, 2013 ~


+ Reply to Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
v -->

About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Sitemap | Terms & Conditions