2nd opinion appt...
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: 2nd opinion appt...

  1. #1
    Super Poster reb2591020's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    483

    Default 2nd opinion appt...

    Very uneventful... He basically said he would do the micro lupron and steriod protocol again. He said that I have a great fert rate. He also asked me to get some blood drawn for some tests...so seriously like 14 vials later, my blood is being tested for EVERYTHING!!! I guess that is good, he is also testing for things they test for on women who have recurrent mc.

    Here is the confusing part...he keep says how great his lab is and I know it is one of the best. What I don't understand is if I have a good fert rate why does the lab matter? He said that if I were his patient since half arrest by day 5, even if I had on 3 or 4 that looked good at day 3, he would continue to push to day 5 because I would have at least 1 or 2 to transfer and 5 day is better than 3. Now my current RE says if they look good at day 3 transfer them, better in you than in a lab especially as in my case only getting a few. Current says if I had 10-15 he would do 5 day. Current is set up for 5 day and think that is what they typically do. The new RE is like 6K more...I am so torn and confused. I am going to go back to my current RE and discuss what was discussed with RE 2.

    The other thing, which I know shouldnt matter, but you know how many appts you have to go to during your cycle...the new RE is like 40 miles from my house and in Houston traffic that is a good hour each way. That would be tough to do with work.

    Any thoughts or suggestions or questions I should ask?

  2. #2
    Contributor waggner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    129

    Default

    I can understand your frustration. One of the hardest parts about all of this is not knowing why, and seeing a new Dr makes you hope someone can answer that for you. I do think the lab quality is a big factor though. The way your embies respond is HUGE, but they are kind of the "babysitters" for such a crucial time. If you are not as skilled in culturing, ICSI and grading I think there will be a bigger chance of not getting the best embies or choosing a 3-day vs 5-day transfer.

    I agree about the 3-day if there are jsut a few that are looking good. When I did my 1st cycle (the one at CCRM) I did a 3-day because I only had 4 that were looking good, and the idea was that they would be happier in their natural home. The RE I saw this time around does a 5-day if there are at least 2 embies with 4 cells by day 3. (am I confusing anyone else besides myself with all of these numbers?)

    What are their success rates? Enough difference to justify $6000? I went for a less expensive clinic this time around, and while they were great I catch myself wondering if I would have a better cycle staying with CCRM.

    And scheduling absolutely makes a difference! We have enough stress during this w/o having to worry about making it to work on time so you do have to consider that, but I personally wouldn't let it be my deciding factor. It works out somehow.

    When RE2 calls w/test results, ask them what effect the lab quality has-maybe they can explain for sure. Def ask about RE1's thoughts and see what he has to say. When is your next appt w/him?

    Sorry this is such a long response...I must be feeling chatty today!
    Brenda & Scott

  3. #3
    Mega Poster meggyrn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    3,930

    Default

    Sorry you feel like you really didn't get anywhere with your appt. My 1st RE always said a 5dt was better because if they aren't going to make it, they're not going to make it in you. We asked him about a 3dt and wouldn't even consider it even when I had 2 embies hanging on and a history of them arresting. My 2nd RE preferred a 5dt but did do a 3dt if there weren't many embies, as was the case with my cycle. He did say that the best place for embies to be were in your body. I think all REs have different opinions on this. I really don't have a good answer for you as to where you should go. You need to go to where you feel is best even if the cost is a bit more and there is more drive time. My last cycle I drove 3 hrs (one way), so 6 hrs a day, every other day for b/w and u/s. Yes, it was very tiring and exhausting, but I made it work.

    Meg-30 DH-42

    2 IUI's-BFN
    IVF #1-cancelled d/t embryos arresting before transfer (3/09)
    IVF #2-BFP 9wks-7/30/09 (6/09)
    IVF #3-BFN (5/10)

  4. #4
    Super Poster reb2591020's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    483

    Default

    Ok so we made our decision...

    We are going to go to the new RE. This will be our last cycle so I am going to try everything and anything. I have also come to the conclusion (right or wrong) that you really need to get to a 5dt. I know that many women are successful with 3dts but I have not been. And he has a great success rate with women like me AMA and multiple failures. In speaking with RE 2 sounds like his lab is so good that he will get to 5 days and if they arrest then there is an issue with me (eggs) but we will never really know if we never make it to 5 days.

    I also like that he is running MULTIPLE blood tests on me, tests that RE 1 never did. Like you said Meg, work and distance will work itself out.

  5. #5
    Mega Poster bisksprout's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    3,023

    Default

    Congrats on coming to a decision. I'm sure it wasn't easy for you *HUGS* When do you get to start your next cycle?

    I'm keeping everything crossed for you!
    -Amanda

    Angel baby @ 5weeks 4days (7/22/07)
    10/07: Gonal-f - Chemical preg
    4/10: IVF #1 - BFN
    7/10: IVF #2 - BFN
    1/11: IVF #3 - BFN
    4/11: IVF #4 - BFN
    7/11: IVF #5 - BFN




  6. #6
    Mega Poster meggyrn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    3,930

    Default

    Glad you were able to make your decision. I hope you now have a sense of peace after deciding. I agree with you...it's your last try so you might as well do everything you can so if (I don't want to say it) it doesn't work, you can walk away knowing you did everything you could. I think that help me come to peace with my decision of being done. I had tried a different RE and it still didn't work.

    Meg-30 DH-42

    2 IUI's-BFN
    IVF #1-cancelled d/t embryos arresting before transfer (3/09)
    IVF #2-BFP 9wks-7/30/09 (6/09)
    IVF #3-BFN (5/10)

  7. #7
    Posting Addict Jenn0113's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    In the heat and humidity
    Posts
    25,924

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by reb2591020 View Post
    Ok so we made our decision...

    We are going to go to the new RE. This will be our last cycle so I am going to try everything and anything. I have also come to the conclusion (right or wrong) that you really need to get to a 5dt. I know that many women are successful with 3dts but I have not been. And he has a great success rate with women like me AMA and multiple failures. In speaking with RE 2 sounds like his lab is so good that he will get to 5 days and if they arrest then there is an issue with me (eggs) but we will never really know if we never make it to 5 days.

    I also like that he is running MULTIPLE blood tests on me, tests that RE 1 never did. Like you said Meg, work and distance will work itself out.
    What part of town is RE1 and RE2 in?

    I have to say - I had to travel about 40 miles to go to my RE and I would have traveled 100 if I had to. When you are doing something as important as IVF you want to go with your gut and who you think has your best interest in mind - regardless of distance. There were patients at my RE's office that traveled from Austin & San Antonio just to use him. Nuts hu?

    I think the fact that he did all that blood work and went over your previous files like he did shows that he is trying to figure out where the breakdown is and change it. He sounds like a great doctor.

    And like you said - if its your last cycle maybe changing things up a bit and trying a new way will do the trick!

  8. #8
    Mega Poster Military Mom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Cali
    Posts
    2,932

    Default

    I am just jumping where you already made your decision so I am happy for you and hope that you find success with this clinic. The whole process is frustrating enough, than having to worry about if you doctor is doing all they can to help you reach your goal. please let us know how it works for you! I am keeping you in my thoughts and prayers!!
    Jill & Jeff
    DD#1: 16, DD#2: 4, and Twins #3 & 4...



  9. #9
    Supporter
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    202

    Default

    I agree with PPs- this is such a difficult process as it is. But it's so important to have an RE who you trust and who is willing to go to plan B when necessary. Thoughts and prayers that the new RE and protocol are exactly what you need. xo

  10. #10
    Super Poster monkeycat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    691

    Default

    Congrats on reaching a decision. I would have made the same choice. It does suck driving, especially in Houston (I went from close to Galveston to next to the Women's Hospital), but it'll work out. And this way, you know you tried everything. Do you have a start date yet? I can't wait to stalk your cycle
    Carolyn

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
v -->

About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Sitemap | Terms & Conditions