Another Fert report / question /complaint
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: Another Fert report / question /complaint

  1. #1
    Mega Poster Mandie565's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    West Chester, PA
    Posts
    4,974

    Default Another Fert report / question /complaint

    So I got my daily fert report.

    QUick synposis from my other post
    16 eggs harvested
    1 was fractured.
    15 were attempted to be fertalized
    7 actually fertalized..

    So today they called and said ALL 7 are growing beautifully. They are all dividing nicely. They are hinting that I might go to blastocyst. We never had that option with our 1st IVF round. From what I understand blasts have a much better chance of surviving.

    Question= Has anyone just put in 1 egg? If I have to have twins I will be happy with what I get. I'm just starting to wonder if I have the option to control it maybe I should IF we go to Blast. I was so happy when DS's IVF round ended with a singleton. I'm keeping my fingers crossed that this one does too.

    Complaint - I'm soo sick and tired of the family member that wants to understand but just doesn't. My Mother has been trying to understand whats going on and at times I think she is really tuned into whats going on. Then other times she just seems so out there. I was talking to her about the how many to put back in. She switched to talking about some dumb dance group on TV. If you don't want to know or be involved then don't ask to be involved. ARGHH..

  2. #2
    Contributor
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    141

    Default

    Sounds like a fabulous report. I dont have experience at this point BUT my clinic always does ICSI and day 5 transfers. They told me it does have a higher rate of success just because they are able to be monitored for that couple more days giving even a better chance of selecting the best to transfer. Also, they always recommened 2 and said occasionally if someone requests and meets the criteria they will transfer 1. Me on the other hand am hoping when we get to that point I will be able to transfer 3. They do not encourage it and I would have to sign some sort of waiver but thats my plan For the reasons you mentioned about your mom "issues" NONE of my family knows we are even considering ivf Cant wait to hear more reports!!!
    The twins are here! 7/17/12 @34.5 weeks
    Henry 5 lbs 4 oz AND Annabelle 6 lbs 4 oz
    Big Brother Bennett 6/9/9

  3. #3
    Community Host meggyrn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    3,930

    Default

    Glad to hear that things are still looking good with your embies!!! My 1st RE always did 5dt since he felt success was better. My last RE did a 3dt if there weren't many embies. If it were me, I'd still transfer 2 embies. I always wanted the best chance at success. If you are willing to go through another transfer if this cycle doesn't work out, then I'd do one.

    Meg-30 DH-42

    2 IUI's-BFN
    IVF #1-cancelled d/t embryos arresting before transfer (3/09)
    IVF #2-BFP 9wks-7/30/09 (6/09)
    IVF #3-BFN (5/10)

  4. #4
    Mega Poster mrs.doolittle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    4,657

    Default

    My RE only did 5dt (my embies never even made it to 3 days). We would have transferred two if we had ever made it that far because the success rate is higher. If you have plenty of embryos, cost isn't an issue, and you really want to avoid multiples, I would think your RE would be willing to transfer one. Single embryo transfers are the norm in many other countries to help avoid the risks associated with multiples.

    Glad to hear that you've got so many thriving embryos!

    Sorry about your mom. I never even told my mom we were going through fertility treatments. She has been known to make comments like "do you really NEED a baby?"

  5. #5
    Posting Addict Jenn0113's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    In the heat and humidity
    Posts
    25,924

    Default

    We always had the choice on how many to transfer. However, I will say that both times I did transfer we Tx 2 blastocysts and only had one baby. Two to transfer doesn't automatically result in twins, but I know you know that.

    As far as your mom goes...OMG...BTDT, its so frustrating. I had friends like that and coworker and family. They wanted to know every detail but once you started to explain it they spaced out about something else.

  6. #6
    Community Host meggyrn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    3,930

    Default

    How are you doing? Are you transferring today or Wed? Just thinking about you!

    Meg-30 DH-42

    2 IUI's-BFN
    IVF #1-cancelled d/t embryos arresting before transfer (3/09)
    IVF #2-BFP 9wks-7/30/09 (6/09)
    IVF #3-BFN (5/10)

  7. #7
    Mega Poster Mandie565's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    West Chester, PA
    Posts
    4,974

    Default

    We got the call this morning - we are waiting until day 5 for transfer!! All 7 of them still look great!! I'm pretty excited.

    I'm having a lot of side effects from the progesterone this round. Dry Mouth, muscle ache's, upset stomach, headaches, bloating. I almost feel preggo but the baby hasn't even been implanted yet.

  8. #8
    Mega Poster Military Mom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Cali
    Posts
    2,932

    Default

    First, sorry about the frustration with your family... sometimes I dont think they realize how important this is to us and sometimes they just dont know how to understand or respond, at least in my experience.

    We did a 5 day blast transfer and I told the doctor I want to be as aggressive as possible, I intend to do the same for the FET - go big or go home attitude We were pregnant with Ariana - as a singleton- after transferring 3 embryos.

    I am really excited for you! Sounds promising, keep us posted and I hope you are able to make the right decision on how many to transfer!! Good Luck!
    Jill & Jeff
    DD#1: 16, DD#2: 4, and Twins #3 & 4...



  9. #9
    Super Poster DancingNancy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    521

    Default

    I know I'm probably a little late to the party but we just transferred 2 embryos at 3days this morning. Our clinic only does 3 day transfers and recommends 2 embryos (we are actually hoping for twins - crazy I know but we are). Good luck on Wednesday!!!
    ~Jenni~
    http://cvandjen.blogspot.com

    11/11 - 1st Fresh IVF attempt BFN
    02/12 - FET BFN
    04/12 - 2nd Fresh IVF attempt BFP
    4weeks 2 days
    9/12 - 3rd Fresh IVF attempt BFN
    7/13 - 4th Fresh IVF attempt BFP
    8 weeks due to chromosonal issues - A boy, Joseph Samuel

  10. #10
    Community Host meggyrn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    3,930

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DancingNancy View Post
    I know I'm probably a little late to the party but we just transferred 2 embryos at 3days this morning. Our clinic only does 3 day transfers and recommends 2 embryos (we are actually hoping for twins - crazy I know but we are). Good luck on Wednesday!!!
    Jenni...do you want to start your own thread so everyone can see your update? Congrats on being PUPO

    Meg-30 DH-42

    2 IUI's-BFN
    IVF #1-cancelled d/t embryos arresting before transfer (3/09)
    IVF #2-BFP 9wks-7/30/09 (6/09)
    IVF #3-BFN (5/10)

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
v -->

About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Sitemap | Terms & Conditions